Page 1 of 9 123 ... LastLast

Talking 29G - Recomendations?

Hey guys,

I just acquired a 29G "kit", because I needed a tricky hobby and I find this one interesting.

Currently set it up, got the salinity all perfected up and testing/learning all the water parameters. The lighting on my hood is pretty basic, but I think it will do for now. Can't go too crazy anyways unless I want to turn the tank into a hottub. I know I will be upgrading pretty much everything as I go along and learn furthermore- but I'm limited because I'm in an apartment.

Does anyone have any recommendations as to what I can have living in there? I was thinking the average cleaning crew, with a few clowns. I highly doubt my lighting can feed an anenome though.

I'm not sure exactly what to ask, but if anyone has ANY recommendations, or anything to say for that matter, then please share. I'm new to all this, and I appreciate any advice or information I can get.

Thanks guys and gals.

Welcome to AC. First, tell us in detail what can with the "kit". Include specifics of the lights. Once we know this we can make recommendations. When did you set it up and have you cycled the tank? You can find some usefull basic info at the following site regarding cycling:
    http://saltaquarium.about.com/od/sta...setupintro.htm

Make sure you come back to AC for the best info and advice!!!
    90g Display, 30gal sump w/ refugium, MAS CR418 calcium reactor w/ Mag5 and Blueline CO2, Vertex IN-180 protein skimmer w/ Mag5, Mag9.5 return, 150 Phosban Reactor w/ MJ 1200, 1 Ebo 200w heater, 90lbs. LR, 80lbs. Carib-Sea aragonite, Cooltouch MH lights -2 x 400watt (20K & 14K) PFO hoods & Coralife 65w PC in custom hood with fan, Coralife 3-3/4watt mini moonlights, 8 jet Closed Loop System w/Reef-flo Dart, Aqua-Safe RO/DI, JBJ Auto Top Off unit w/Mag 5 return, 12g Nano cube, 10g quarentine.

hey welcome to AC! if ur running a 29 kit, i assume u have a hang on back filter of some sort? maybe a Aquaclear 300 or a Emperor?