Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Breeding clowns.

Is this the right place for this thread? I'm just getting started breeding clowns.

I've got a pair of tomato clowns (Fred the female is just over 4" long. Barney the male is around 2.5" long. The names are a remnant from my uncle's original pair of perculas.) They have been laying in my main tank every two weeks until recently. Fred was looking a little ragged and spent most of her time harassing all the other fish in the tank. It was like there was a wall right down the middle of the tank. All the other fish lived in the west end of the tank and Fred and Barney lived in the east end. A few days ago I setup an annex tank to the main tank (they share the same sump) and I moved Fred and Barney, a pair of small blue legged crabs, and three snails in to give the fishies a rest and some privacy. Fred is looking a lot better. (In fact, I was in installing a small power head to pull water out of the top of the siphon in the overflow and she took several good runs at me. She didn't bite me but she would have given the chance.)

So...having written all that preamble...to the meat of the matter.

Is anyone here breeding clowns? Tomatos? Would someone be willing to offer a bit of advice? I'm off work for the next 4 months and would like to see if I can't raise some little clown fish.

Thanks,

Hank.

hmm i'd research into the live cycle of the clown fish fry, cause i believe they go through a stage where they're just too small to be in regular tanks

i would first move the rock with the eggs into a seperate tank, keeping an air stone to keep the water fresh near the eggs...

second, prepare a big tank, maybe a 55 gallon wide, a "breeder", or if u can find a giant PVC barrel, transfer the babies in there once they hatch.

then maybe get rotifers and baby brine ready

then hope for the best?

That sounds like egg-defensive behaviour of the clown.
    As soon as they hach, move fry in separate tank.