Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Posts
    783

    PhosBan Reactor 150 Questions.

    Is anyone here using one of these contraptions. Was looking into them and seriously considering adding one to my system. What type of pump do you recomend to use with it. Any they any different than just using phosban in a media tray of a canister filter or are they a much more effceint form of phosphate removal? Thanks in advance again for the advice.

  2. #2
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Posts
    432
    Sory to highjack your thread :biglaugh2 ,
    I also have a question about these reactor.

    Is it a bad idea to put more than one filter media(like phosban and carbon) at a same time in different filter bags in the reactor?

    Steve

  3. #3
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    Alexandria, VA moving to Montreal
    Posts
    646
    I am using a Maxi Jet 900 on mine and it is more than enough. You want just enough flow to make the surface boil. It is MUCH more effective than putting it in a bag and throwing it into the sump. I would not try to run Phosban or Rowaphos without one. My preference is for Rowa. I'll try the Eco stuff soon as well.

    I have heard of people mixing in carbon. It works, but I have not tried it myself.

  4. #4
    Senior Member reefmutt's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Posts
    1,770
    Bill's advice is right on
    I run both Rowaphos and Rowacarbon in my reactor at the same time- works perfectly fine.
    However, steve, I'm not sure about your question since if you are running a fluidised reactor like the Phosban reactor, no media bags are used- the stuff is loose inside the chamber.
    Matt.

    Old system torn down to make a playroom.. planning a 62x42x28 high

  5. #5
    Senior Member ReefSalt's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Posts
    1,450
    I am using the Phosban reactor the older 10 screw model a real pain,but nevertheless still works well much better than a canister as mentioned before. I heard the new model is a twist off top I think Kent came out with one to ,I may pick up one up .
    HTH

    ReefSalt

    Before you buy anything......Read and Research .
    _________________________

    Setup:
    265 gl SPS Reef. AquaScape Marco Rock 150lbs ( Upgrading to a 300gl Deep Dimension)
    Ecotech Radion Pro x 4 & Ecotech ReefLink
    Decante 75g
    Pompe de Remonte PCX55
    Reef Octopus SRO-5000SSS
    Reacteur Sulphur H&S Pour Nitrate
    2x Phosban 550

    Frag Tank:
    Perfect0 45 cube sur le system central
    Totoka LR 50lb
    Radion Gen2
    Vortech MP10W

  6. #6
    Senior Member aragorn69's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Posts
    206
    Just got my Phosban Reactor 150 two days ago, seems to be running fine, i have it connected to the same loop my UV is on. FYI yes the new model is a twist off cap, very easy to open and change media.
    Adam

    __________________________
    A Black Hole Is Were God Divided By Zero!

Similar Threads

  1. Phosban Reactor Media
    By DaTang in forum Lighting, Filtration & Other Equipment
    Replies: 15
    Last Post: 12-13-2006, 10:05 PM
  2. PhosBan Reactor Maintainance
    By LowKey in forum Reef Discussion
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 03-10-2006, 05:44 PM
  3. Phosban Reactor
    By drummer89 in forum Reef Discussion
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 01-29-2006, 06:34 AM
  4. Phosban reactor Manifold
    By tang_man_montreal in forum Lighting, Filtration & Other Equipment
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 01-19-2006, 03:02 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •