Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    JHG

10G Tank w/ 10G Sump

Just wondering if running a 10G sump on a 10G tank is possible. My thoughts were to use a power head on the return and an overflow box on the main tank. If this is possible, I'd need some suggestions on the size of overflow box or dimensions to have a place like Acrylic City design this OR if someone knows where I could buy one for a 10G that would be great. It was also recommended to me that an AquaClear 802 should work on the return. Any thoughts? I'm very new to marine aquaria so relish your feedback, suggestions and constructive criticisms.

J
    Marine Aquarium Society of Nova Scotia
    www.masns.ca

theres alot of power heads out there that u can get for return, the important thing is to worry about if it has enough power to carry the water to the height u want and still maintain a good flow.

as for over flow box, u don't need one too big IMO, maybe, say 5"Lx3"Hx2"W

JHG
    How can one know beforehand if a power head is strong enough to push the water up to the main tank (aside from just knowing the gph)? Is it far fetched to want a 10G sump in use on a 10G main tank? I have the extra tank and space so thought it would be a good decision and use of both.
    www.masns.ca

1) Nothing wrong with a 10G sump on a 10G tank. Some people even have sumps which are larger than their main tanks.

2) Reef Central has a calculator to determine the flow rate from a pump based on the design of the return plumbing (http://reefcentral.com/calc/hlc2.php). They list a number of power heads but not all of them. That's where I got the MJ-1200 data from.