Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: clown fish

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Posts
    8

    clown fish

    Do you have to keep an anemone to have a clown fish?
    The clown that I have only has two white stripes, why is he different?

  2. #2
    Senior Member scooby's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Posts
    213
    First I'm new so take anything I say wish that in mind.

    From what I've been reading, no you do not need an anenome to have clowns. They are perfectly fine without but I would suggest as it was to me, to get 2.

    If down the road you decide to get an anenome they might take to hosting it after time but be patient as others have reported waiting months for them to take to it.

    As far as the the clown with only two strips goes, sounds like it could be a Maroon Clown (only scene it in pictures) or possible a Fiji Blue Stripe Clown. Don't let the name fool you, its still two white stripes.

    Hope this helps.

  3. #3
    Senior Member ReefVan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Montreal, Qc
    Posts
    1,081
    Search the 'net for a photo of your clown and we'll try to help you out ...

    Use this link ... http://www.biodiversity.uno.edu/ebooks/intro.html

    Van
    It's not junk, it's un-assembled DIY!

  4. #4
    Senior Member scooby's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Posts
    213
    Great site Reefvan. I just spent the last hour just surfing through it. (listening to my Leafs thumping Edmonton in the background ) lol

    It's always great to have someone recommend a site that's useful.

  5. #5
    Senior Member ReefVan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Montreal, Qc
    Posts
    1,081
    Thanks Scooby,

    Been too busy building Rats lately to update it ... I'll do it at Xmas maybe ...

    Van
    It's not junk, it's un-assembled DIY!

  6. #6
    Senior Member tiffany's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Posts
    860
    Anemones and clowns don't need eachother to live and will do fine without one another, and it's not uncommon that they don't host with their anemone either, there are reports that clowns fair better (healthier) with an anemone but their is no evidence to show that the same is with anemones. Many clowns have been known to breed w/out one.
    Scooby you are correct but if I may extrapolate here a little.."They are perfectly fine without but I would suggest as it was to me, to get 2." I'd only get two if they were a pair at purchase, often when you have one clown, the addition of another won't be tolerated by the first, and they will fight.
    "The significant problems we face cannot be solved at the same level of thinking we were at when we created them."
    - Albert Einstein (1879-1955)

Similar Threads

  1. Clown fish
    By todd in forum Reef Discussion
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 09-06-2010, 01:53 AM
  2. Clown fish Question ?
    By BANE in forum Just Getting Started
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 11-09-2006, 03:04 PM
  3. Help With Clown fish
    By Nobez in forum Reef Discussion
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 11-08-2006, 04:17 AM
  4. clown fish id
    By jay01 in forum Just Getting Started
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 10-17-2004, 11:14 PM
  5. new clown fish
    By beeble in forum Just Getting Started
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 11-18-2003, 04:13 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •