Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 21

Thread: Power Question

  1. #1
    Senior Member colesy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Posts
    1,023

    Power Question

    I have been having a weird power issues at my house and it started around the same time I set the tank up. Basically the lights will dim every now and then, I will also hear the power heads turn off then back on right away. This all happens at the same time.

    I have a power bar plugged into an outlet and all my equipment plugged into the power bar. Am I drawing too much power? I have my lights (2x39w t12s) 2 powerheads, protein skimmer, fluval canister filter, 2 30watt heaters.

    Is this too much for one outlet to handle? I beleive its a 20 amp fuse.

  2. #2
    Senior Member badmedicine's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Posts
    356
    Count the wattage of all the items on that circuit.

    Voltage X amp= wattage
    115 x 20 =2300watt

    Do you have a base board heater or other heavy draw item on the same circuit? (not just the plug). Turn off the circuit for your tank (with the heaters et al) and see what else is on that circuit.

    Hope that helps!
    I have a lot of Patients

  3. #3
    Senior Member colesy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Posts
    1,023
    The weird thing is if it was overloading the circuit wouldnt the fuse blow? The fuse is fine, something is causing a short or something. The lights just dim up and down, and it also causes my stereo receiver to clip out. My TV is plugged into the same power bar as the receiver, and it stays on.. so the receiver clips out, maybe because it needs a constant current or something, and its peaking or dipping to low...

  4. #4
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Posts
    6,370
    hmmm I'd say your just about maxed out.dimming can happen and it happens usually when something drawing lots of juice [ie,fridge] kicks in. you have to find out what all is on that circuit. theres way more than 1 outlet so your gear from the tank is probaly closing in on the 15 amps.

  5. #5
    Moderator cres's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Posts
    1,963
    And don't limit your search to the same circuit.

    If you have a smaller service, like 60 AMP, or a 100 AMP closer to the limit, you can see these little "brown outs" when a heavy load starts.

    In my parent's house (before we upgraded) we had an old 60 AMP service. When the well pump would kick in, all the lights would dim for a second and the TV would show some interference. Then when the pump would stop the lights would flare a bit.

    Once the cable to the pole was replace with a 100 AMP service this problem went away.
    Sarchasm: The gulf between the author of sarcastic wit and the person who doesn't get it.

  6. #6
    Senior Member putz28's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Posts
    287
    That one breaker, if it is a 20 amp, will handle 22.9 amps. At 23 the circuit will break as the breaker is set to trip at 15% overload. If you are noticing brown outs you need to wire yourself a new breaker or use another plug in.

    FYI: homes are wired so that as you go around the room a plug is not on the same breaker as the next one. The theory goes that people are more likely to load 2 plugs next to each other.
    125G in wall
    2 x 250 hqi
    4 x 4' actinics
    tunze wavemaker & 6060
    2 x 1200 maxi's
    quiet one 3000

    ...just started of course



    One day my daughter asked me for Nemo. Here we are thousands later and I'm just getting started.

  7. #7
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Posts
    6,370
    putz, were did you get that info?? most homes I see and paint in have rooms on one breaker. there daisy chained [?] it would make for some pretty crazy/expensive wiring to run seperate wires to a single destination. I could be wrong but on breaker boxes I've seen theres usually 1 breaker per area so to speak. I've never seen 2 outlets on the same wall on different breakers.

  8. #8
    Senior Member putz28's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Posts
    287
    If you look in the ontario electrical code book, the orange one, you will see that they want rooms wired in that way. Leap frogged.

    Most production framed homes won't go that route but custom homes are often done in that way. It isn't code, but that is how they advise it is done.
    125G in wall
    2 x 250 hqi
    4 x 4' actinics
    tunze wavemaker & 6060
    2 x 1200 maxi's
    quiet one 3000

    ...just started of course



    One day my daughter asked me for Nemo. Here we are thousands later and I'm just getting started.

  9. #9
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Posts
    6,370
    ahh I see. neat. I really don't think that matters much that way anyways. as you'd end up with about the same amount on a circuit. you'd know quick when its to much. it might be a good idea for areas that have high drawing appliances like a basement with a fridge and freezer on the same circuit or wash machin and dishwasher. our home has these issues as it was built in the late 70's and I'm almost at my max. can't run the dishwasher at night when outside xmas lights are on LOL.

  10. #10
    Senior Member putz28's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Posts
    287
    ya, Christmas lights are your problem, right.

    Maybe the swimming pool pump that you need to move water in that tank of your is drawing the power? :speedbana

    Cheers
    125G in wall
    2 x 250 hqi
    4 x 4' actinics
    tunze wavemaker & 6060
    2 x 1200 maxi's
    quiet one 3000

    ...just started of course



    One day my daughter asked me for Nemo. Here we are thousands later and I'm just getting started.

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. NOOB question about power consuption
    By WitnessToThis in forum Just Getting Started
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 02-02-2006, 12:37 PM
  2. pro 3 power head question
    By redbelly in forum Lighting, Filtration & Other Equipment
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 09-23-2005, 12:36 AM
  3. back up power question
    By reefsurfer in forum Lighting, Filtration & Other Equipment
    Replies: 42
    Last Post: 09-02-2004, 12:15 PM
  4. CORALIFE power compact question
    By aquamann in forum Lighting, Filtration & Other Equipment
    Replies: 18
    Last Post: 04-09-2004, 01:14 PM
  5. Power-glo
    By Sunray in forum Just Getting Started
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 10-04-2003, 12:38 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •