Is a sw nano right for me?

I've been doing the fresh water thing for a few years now. I'm familiar with most aspects - but far from being an expert. Then again, who is? I guess that's why they call this a hobby?

Anyway... I find myself getting bored with my fresh water tanks a lot. I recently got into discus and although they're GORGEOUS fish they are really quite boring and more apt for a large, built-in display or something to that affect. So I'm thinking about selling them all off. And I think the only fresh water fish I'll be keeping is my Sanchezi piranha.

I am thinking, however, about getting a sw nano going from the procedes of the sale of the discus. I think sw - especially starting from scratch - might be more interesting. See, the thing is, I'm not impatient. But I get bored. So once the fw tank is all setup, the fish are all in there, etc etc, there's nothing left to do. Which is also why I end up tearing my tanks apart about once a month. Just to have something to do. With sw there are so many aspects to keep me busy and interested. I think it could hold my interest for a lot longer.

In terms of what size of nano - I really wouldn't want to go beyond 20 gallons. I know - some people think small is impossible. But I've done a lot of reading and it's what I'd like to attempt. So either a 10 gallon or 20 gallon. I'm thinking a 20 gallon, though. Then the question would be 20 high or 20 long. Any pluses or minuses there? I'd be buying the tank brand new from the store to ensure good condition...