Extreme Newbie...No tank yet, just thinking about it.

Hello,

I have been pondering the idea of getting a saltwater tank, and would like some input. I have never kept an aquarium before, and have read that one should have experience with freshwater before diving into saltwater (pun intended), but I really enjoy the beauty of marine aquariums. Also, I'm sure my two year old daughter would love a 'Nemo' of her own. I have a few questions I need cleared up before I decide to delve into the hobby:

-Could someone suggest some readings for an absolute beginner?
    -Do I need to have a overflow/sump/refuge setup, or are they just to hide equipment?
    -How much money would I be looking at spending for a 55galon SW aquarium, assuming I could find some equipment used?

Thank you in advance for your help, guys. I really eant to do the research and make sure Im up for it before I invest a lot of effort/money into this hobby.

:help: :help: :help: READ AS MANY BOOKS AS YOU CAN. SEARCH THE NET FOR INFO.AS FOR COSTS ,IT ALL DEPENDS ON WANT YOU WANTT TO KEEP. CORALS SOFT OR HARD? I DONT THINK IT FAR FETCHED TO SAY IT COSTS ABOUT $40 PER GALLON.DON'T BUY A AQUARIUM KIT? IN THE LONG RUN ALL YOU WILL STILL BE USING IS THE TANK AND THE HEATER. AS YOU WILL UPGRADE LIGHTING AND FILTRATION. GET THE TANK DRILLED AND USE A SUMP/FUGE. AS YOU WILL WISH YOU WOULD HAVE DONE IT DOWN THE ROAD.I WISH I DID.IT ADDS MORE VOLUME TO YOUR SYSTEM AND MAKES MATAINENCE EASIER.ALL THAT SAID IF YOU CHOSE TO NOT GO DOWN THAT ROUTE YOU CAN STILL HAVE A NICE TANK .EG 55 G TANK $150 HEATER $25 POWER COMPACT LIGHTS $350 CORALIFE SUPERSKIMMER $ 200 FLUVAL 404 $150 SALT AND ARAGONTIE $150. YOUR NOW AT $1000 AND YOU STILL HAVE NO FISH CORALS , LIVE ROCK. SAVE UP BUY QUALITY PRODUCTS AND PATIENCE.READ , READ , READ, TO MUCH INFORMATION NEVER HURTS!! : :help:

Welcome!

There are loads of stuff you can learn from the hobby, i think you did a great job by making a post and asking questions.