Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 18
  1. #1
    Senior Member volitan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Posts
    3,051

    Lifereef skimmer water level adjustement??

    HI guys!!!

    At what level should I set the water.....line 1,line 2 or line 3
    Derik...

  2. #2
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Posts
    6,370
    niether, you should have it start a few inches inside the big tube.

  3. #3
    Senior Member volitan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Posts
    3,051
    around the top part of the LIFEREEF letters?

    Thanks Johnny
    Derik...

  4. #4
    Senior Member Flame*Angel's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Posts
    3,332
    I dunno, looks like it's foaming pretty nicely there. Why not leave it where it is? On my 2' LifeReef I have on the reef I have the water level right at the top of the big flange, just before the neck. On the 6' one I have it going up into the neck, where you have your line #1. Keep in mind that this will change as the skimmer breaks in too.
    Susan

  5. #5
    Senior Member volitan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Posts
    3,051
    thats not my skimmer susan ehehe thats jsut the pic on the site....Its just that when i adjust at one of the 3 lines on the top picture i get up in the morning and my overflow bucket is full...not only it doestn skim like that,it cost money in salt and I duno if you remmenber my last episode with my prizm skimmer it overflowed 30 gallons on the floor......i bought a auto top off switch and I will put that in the oveflow bucket and if the bucket gets full when i am not there it will shut the skimmer off......So what do you think...lower or equal or higher from the flange?
    Derik...

  6. #6
    Senior Member volitan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Posts
    3,051
    Gail,Were do you set you water in your lifereef?
    Derik...

  7. #7
    Senior Member volitan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Posts
    3,051
    Also doesit have to be absolutly flat..mine is on a small little angle(tilted towards the tank a tad) because i would of have had to move my tank...
    Derik...

  8. #8
    Senior Member ALRHA's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Posts
    2,842
    if its overflowing, then i would guess you should lower the water level (at least till it breaks in - considering that you havent used one in quite some time). after it breaks in, you can then raise the level if you feel you need to. but i would think that 30gal a day being skimmed out would be a bit much.
    JMO - keep in mind i dont even have a skimmer, so take my advice with a drop of skimmate.
    Albert
    My Photos

  9. #9
    Senior Member volitan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Posts
    3,051
    That was my old skimmer though...this is my new one........
    Derik...

  10. #10
    Senior Member CableGuy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Posts
    500
    I let my 6' life-reef run for about a week with the water level very low until it broke in. Now that it's broke in I have it in between the 2 and 3. I have never had to adjust the skimmer once I got it where I wanted it.

    Colby
    "DREAM LIKE YOU'LL LIVE FOREVER, LIVE LIKE YOU'LL DIE TOMMOROW"

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. In sump skimmer - water level?
    By Leafster in forum Lighting, Filtration & Other Equipment
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 05-25-2005, 02:23 PM
  2. Lifereef Skimmer
    By mike536 in forum Just Getting Started
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 01-08-2005, 03:32 AM
  3. Lifereef Venturi Skimmer VS2-24"
    By jagger in forum AC Classifieds
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 01-02-2005, 08:09 PM
  4. Water level in sump
    By Pickoff in forum DIY - Do it Yourself
    Replies: 25
    Last Post: 12-13-2004, 10:50 PM
  5. Hooking up my 6' LifeReef skimmer today
    By Flame*Angel in forum Large Tank Forum
    Replies: 84
    Last Post: 10-21-2004, 03:01 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •