Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 21
  1. #1
    Senior Member tiffany's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Posts
    860

    MH over center brace.

    I wanted to put a 150MH over the current tank while I wait for my new bigger one and my b/friend said that it would crack the center brace, even if it's poitioned to the side of the tank. Is this true???
    "The significant problems we face cannot be solved at the same level of thinking we were at when we created them."
    - Albert Einstein (1879-1955)

  2. #2
    Senior Member volitan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Posts
    3,051
    i have 2 mh 250 w on a 36 inche tank with a center brace...
    Derik...

  3. #3
    Senior Member Khoa's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Posts
    488
    I cut mine out and replaced it with glass.
    Newbie in training

  4. #4
    Senior Member tiffany's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Posts
    860
    Hmmmmmm....
    I though he may be "tricking me"...( I can hear the Twilight Zone theme..)
    The brace is made of glass.
    He also mentioned the evaporation, as I don't have an auto top off it would be too great. Is this another "urban Andy myth"?
    "The significant problems we face cannot be solved at the same level of thinking we were at when we created them."
    - Albert Einstein (1879-1955)

  5. #5
    Senior Member pwall's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Posts
    2,326
    You will get evaporation....depending on the size of the tank and the amount of light, etc.
    On my 150g with 2 400w MH, I loose between 1-2 gallons per day.
    I use an auto-top up system as topping up the water every day would be a pain.
    Regards,
    Patrick.
    Ottawa (Orleans), Ontario
    Yahoo IM: pwallnfld

  6. #6
    Senior Member volitan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Posts
    3,051
    personnaly i do not trust auto top offs.....Maybe its just me but..there is some people that had it on and the top float to stop the pump didnt stop the pump and they woke up in the mornig or arrived from work with salinity Very low and mess all over the floor..unless you take a small bucket and just put enough for it not to overfill your tank and just let the pump run dry if there is a problem with the float.....you wont melt glass with the halides..
    Derik...

  7. #7
    Senior Member tiffany's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Posts
    860
    Thanks..
    I didn't think I would crack the glass, but when there's 2 reefers in one house..........doubt can set in.....
    I don't mind manually topping off the water atm until the bigger tank arrives, and I've heard the same horror stories too.
    "The significant problems we face cannot be solved at the same level of thinking we were at when we created them."
    - Albert Einstein (1879-1955)

  8. #8
    Senior Member tang_man_montreal's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Posts
    5,821
    I've been using my auto top-off for well over a year and NEVER had any problems.

    I trust it completely.
    I am Homer of BORG... Prepare to be..OOOO!! DONUT!!!!!!

  9. #9
    Senior Member volitan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Posts
    3,051
    thats what i meant its only me......dont you make your own switches vince.....?Its most probably ive had a skimmer overflowing 30 gallons on the floor and with the work i do i am gone for a month at a time...i would be very stressed about it.....you have any pics of your system vince
    Derik...

  10. #10
    Moderator cres's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Posts
    1,963
    It depends on the type of top up.
    If you set it up with a volume that can be handled by the sump (e.g. you have 10 gallons of headroom and a 10 gallon reservoir), your salinity can drop, but, not too dramatically and you shouldn't find a lot of water on the floor.

    If you have it hooked up to a live feed, and it isn't set up with redundancy or fail-safe, you could dillute your tank and / or find a puddle when you get home. I believe tang_man builds and sells some top-ups floats with redundancy.

    The only way your glass brace would crack from heat is from a sudden change. If it gets very hot (unlikely) and then it gets wet, it has a good chance of cracking. But, you will likely have the light 6-12 inches over the tank water which means the glass brace won't get so hot that getting it wet would lead to cracking.

    Well, IMO anyway.
    Sarchasm: The gulf between the author of sarcastic wit and the person who doesn't get it.

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. How to Fix/Replace Top Brace
    By Serge in forum DIY - Do it Yourself
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 09-30-2009, 03:48 PM
  2. Brace
    By PAZE in forum Just Getting Started
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 02-25-2009, 08:53 PM
  3. center brace
    By weeble in forum DIY - Do it Yourself
    Replies: 21
    Last Post: 11-29-2005, 02:55 AM
  4. Center brace
    By peehair in forum Reef Discussion
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 03-17-2005, 02:48 AM
  5. MH over center brace?
    By Gools in forum Lighting, Filtration & Other Equipment
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 05-28-2004, 05:10 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •