Page 1 of 7 123 ... LastLast

Bob's Ghetto Build! 180 on the cheap!

For those of you who have been following, I'm building a 180. Because I'm a poor mechanic, I'm doing it as cheap as I can, while still maintaining a degree of quality in my components. I started with a 180 miracles I found in the local classifieds. It was purchased new, filled to check for leaks, and then emptied and never used. It has dual 1.5" overflows. She paid 1600 for it locally, which is probably overpriced (not sure, never looked into it). Anyways, in the end she wanted it gone and gave it to me for 400 dollars! It came with plumbing and a mag 9.5, also brand new.
    Stand was built by myself, I also picked up a 60g in the local classifieds for 50 bucks, and I turned it into my sump.
    I needed a skimmer of course, and after a ton of research, I decided on the Octopus Extreme 200. It has a sicce pump, is rated for 225 with medium bioload, and is a beast. Came in at 339.00 brand new.
    I got a mag 18 for the return, I was going to go with reeflo, but decided against drilling my sump. 124.99 new.
    I researched my lighting for awhile, and wanted t5's, mainly for the heat savings, plus I saw some really neat tanks from europe with t5 only, and liked the look. I found a 72" 8x80w fixture with moonlights for Catalina Aquarium. They now have a 5 year warranty, are made in the US, and have individual reflectors and workhorse ballasts. I haven't received them yet, but I'll let everyone know what I think when I do. After some haggling, I got them for 600US total with bulbs.
    I picked up 100lbs of rock on the weekend from a reefer in TO who unfortunately had to get out of the hobby for a bit. He gave me the rock, 75lbs of sand, and two Koralia 4's for under 400 dollars.
    So at this point I'm cycling. I'm still waiting on the lights and my mag 18, but all is progressing smoothly!