Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: 10G Tank

JHG

10G Tank

Still very much a work in progress, but here it is.

Tank: Perfecto 10 gallon tank
    Powerhead: AquaClear 301
    Filter: Aqua Clear 150 (for water movement only)
    Heater: Hagen Thermal Pre-set 150wattLighting: Philips Universal Marathon mini-compact 25 watt bulb and Globe mini-compact 9 watt bulb.
    Inverts: Blue Leg Hermit Crabs (x4), Astrea Snails(x2), Brittle starfish (x3?), Bristleworms (tons)
    Fish: Pair of juvenile ocellaris
    Corals: Polyps and some various mushrooms that arrived on rock from Dalhousie sump.
    LR: Mostly homemade. (plan on replacing this by end of December)

I've ordered two Coralife mini-compact 50/50 20 watt bulbs to replace my current lighting. The hope is to be able to support soft corals. I'm also considering adding a few more snails. I am also tinkering with the idea of adding a 10 gallon and using an overflow box in conjunction with a powerhead to return water. I'm new to the marine world so let me have your suggestions/recommendations/criticisms, etc. My skin is think... in most places.

J

Marine Aquarium Society of Nova Scotia
    www.masns.ca

did u use a dsb? its looks good, but i think the DSB takes up too much room

ever thought of seperating a section of the tank to use as sump or fuge?

or did u wanted to keep the whole thing as whole with out modding?

JHG
    What's a DSB?

I would like to add a sump below this tank as I have the space on the iron stand and have the spare tank.

J
    www.masns.ca

Deep Sand Bed, helps produce denitrifying bacteria

if you can do a fuge under the curren tanks, i say do it, its give you more room in the main tank, and more water to make mistakes :biglaugh2

and keep up a bigger bioload!

Quote Originally Posted by JHG
    What's a DSB?

I would like to add a sump below this tank as I have the space on the iron stand and have the spare tank.

J