Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

10G WIP (Work in Prog.)

This will just be my blog thread untill the day after christmas :-) when I will hopefully get things rolling and switched over from my 5.5g ->10g. Please read and leave comments. I do not plan on going hardcore salt keeping (MH, other expensive equipment, because I am still a student and I'm already packed with tanks, my parents will be more upset).
    Borrowed format JHG's post

Tank: Perfecto 10 gallon tank 20x10x12
    Powerhead: 2x 80gph
    Filter: AC 300 fuge, or move it over to me AC 500
    Heater: All Glass 50w
    Lighting: Here is where I need opinions
    Coralife Aqualight 20" 96watt 50/50 quad w/fan $149.99 reg or better boxing day
    Coralfe Aqualight 24" 65watt 50/50 109.99 no fan $109.99 20% rebate, free shipping, 7% tax
    Coralife Aqualight 24" 2x 36watt 1-10k, 1-actinic, no fan, 2 coard, $99.95 or better boxing day
    Satellite 20" 40watt 10k+actinic + moon led, fan, 1 coard, $109.99 20% off
    Satellite 24" 65watt 10k+actinic + moon leds, fan, 1 coard, $119.99 20% off
    Inverts: 2 BLHermits, 2 snails, 1 slug (found it), bristle worms. Soon to get shrimps/crabs
    Fish: 1 Ocellaris clown, maybe try my luck to house an angel instead, not worried.
    Corals: Mushrooms, xenia, zoos, button polyp, anemones, leather, scallop, maybe if I got money to spend... clam in the future. I am still on the learning side.
    LR: 7lb figi & vanuatu. 10lb livesand (CC & Agronite mix).

Everything from my 5.5 will be moved into the new 10gal so the money being spent is mostly on lighting and the tank is only 6.99. I then need to head to ikea and pickup a new table for my room. For a 10gallon, I think 50watts would be adequate for most med light req stuff. I would go with the 96watt quad, but first there is 1 plug and its 1 bulb (that cost 80 bucks). It is the exact length tho, but that doesn't matter does it? 2" both sides isn't a big deal, or is it?