Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Unhappy Home alone 4 - and feeling empty.

Hi,

This monday, I drove to montreal to drop off my wife and son at the airport. They are travelling to India for 4 months. The look on my son's face as they moved into the security area had million words, couldn't help but my eyes fogged, I controlled myself wishing that atleast he would a have good time, with all his cousins.

Now here is the situation, I have never lived alone ever in my life, and now I am in the house all by myself, and believe me it is my worst experience so far.

A friend suggested that I should focus on my hobby, so I decided to plan the basement fish room, that I have been post-poning for the last 6 months.

So this is what I have comeup so far, found a perfect place to house the tank, will look a in-wall construction when finished. The tank dimension will be 96" X 36" X 36" (approx 500 gal), with a 180 Gallon Acrylic sump/refugium 72"X24"X24.

The closest wall to the setup will be my inside garage wall, should I be OK with exhausting the hood to the garage, are there any issues here?

Started enquiring about glass (I have to build it there as I cannot move a finished tank through the stairs and basement), I guess I need 3/4" thickness. I got a quote for 3000$ for a all startphire equivalent. And 2000$ for regular float glass. I wasn't going to take second mortgage.

So did some further investigation, and found a source for the glass a low iron glass (clearer than regular float glass but not the same as a starphire). I can get for 700$ including S&H and that is for all panes, now I have the fish room idea resurrected from the grave.

I am in the budgeting phase now, live rock i'll get it directly shipped from Fiji say 500lbs by overnight air. I guess i'll have to drive south of the border to pick up my southdown sand to save a bit.