Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Electricians - Another Question

Can you tell by looking at the attached pic if a pony box will be required to add 15 amps for air conditioning. The history is that the electric hot water tank was replaced with a oil burning tank that now uses only 15 amps.
    a total of 4 - 15 amp circuits have been added over the years for the basement and garage.
    Is it normal to have 60 amps for a dryer and 80 for a stove?
    If you "save" the pic to your desktop you can increase it to see the current layout better.
    OH ... the guy who services my furnace was telling me that it is more cost effective in the long run to put in a higher rated fuse box then to put in a pony box.
    Thanks in advance
    Rob

Box Label

Box Label

I would run a 15 amp line from that....but that's me, i'm not an electrician. 15 seems low tho for an a/c unit.
    Any darn fool can make something complex; it takes a genius to make something simple

Spots 11,12, 23 and 24 are available. You can add a 15 or dedicated 20 amp for the air conditioner.

Since you have 4 spots available, you don't need a pony panel. It won't buy you any more total current so, unless you are close to browning out now, you should have no trouble.
    Sarchasm: The gulf between the author of sarcastic wit and the person who doesn't get it.

you can add breakers in that box no problem,i presume you heat the house with oil? your amperage main fuse or breaker is 125 amp?your stove takes only 40a and dryer 30 a

OK ... if the Dryer and stove require those lower amperages why are such large fuses currently in place? The house is about 35 years old and to date there have been NO shortages of power.
    Rob