Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 19
  1. #1
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Posts
    6,316

    HELP !! with XP "PRO" version

    I have a friends computer here because they can not access any secure web sites including the windows update site. the message being received under the address bar is " Security setting are set too high for activex controls installed on this computer to run" . When I right click to download or allow those controls to run I don't even get the normal drop down menu that would allow me to do anything. i have reduced all security setting that are available in the control panel with no luck. If this is a hidden setting where do I change it? I am logged on as the administer.
    Rob

  2. #2
    Senior Member Bram's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Posts
    1,971
    What kinD of browser are you using?
    IE is soo suseptible to spywear i'd remove it before trying to instal or download anything
    Who says Dogs are the only creature that's happy to see you?

    Pics --> http://aquariacanada.com/PhotoPost/s...r=1248&cat=500

  3. #3
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Posts
    6,316
    it is Internet explorer. do you mean remove IE or remove spy-wear?
    Rob

  4. #4
    Senior Member Swimfins's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Posts
    897
    go to "tools" in I.E at top of browser page.
    click on 'Internet Options' tab
    click on 'security' tab
    click on 'custom level' box
    click on 'enable' on run active-x controls and plugins

    check the other controls for anything that is disabled that you may not want disabled

    Hope this helps
    Canons shooting coconut creme
    40 guns in a steady stream. :coolmad:

  5. #5
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Posts
    6,316
    Originally posted by Swimfins
    go to "tools" in I.E at top of browser page.
    click on 'Internet Options' tab
    click on 'security' tab
    click on 'custom level' box
    click on 'enable' on run active-x controls and plugins

    check the other controls for anything that is disabled that you may not want disabled

    Hope this helps
    Already did that with no luck. I did however manage to download some security updates for IE 6 but when i went to install them i got a message saying the files could not be found :-(
    Rob

  6. #6
    Member Pique's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Posts
    57
    Have you checked the Internet Properties (Internet options) Advanced tab and checked if under Security there is a checked box for 'Allow actiive contant from CD's to run on my computer' and 'Allow active contant to run in files on my computer'? If they're not checked, check them and that should slove the problem.

  7. #7
    Member Pique's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Posts
    57
    Originally posted by Swimfins
    go to "tools" in I.E at top of browser page.
    click on 'Internet Options' tab
    click on 'security' tab
    click on 'custom level' box
    click on 'enable' on run active-x controls and plugins

    check the other controls for anything that is disabled that you may not want disabled

    Hope this helps
    You shouldn't leave yourself so open. You can add the site (https) to the 'Trusted Sites' so that it has fewer restrictions but only it, or any site in the list of trusted sites, will have the lessened restrictions.

  8. #8
    Moderator Krugar's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Posts
    3,174
    First off don't remove internet explorer from windows xp. XP has been built to expect IE and it's part of the OS. Removing it will hobble your system.

    Any browser has to be managed. Firefox for example just put out a critical patch to correct an arbitrary execution of code exploit.

    I suggest you start with the following:

    On the securtiy settings tab, reset the internet zone to Medium security.

    Check the Restricted sites zone and make sure that the sites you're visiting aren't listed.

    If that works, your system needs to be harded from these settings, but the problem was a too restrictive setting.

    Any chance the files you were trying to run are .NET based? Are you using Service Pack 2?

    Cheers!
    There is nothing so permanent as a temporary measure.

  9. #9
    Senior Member Swimfins's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Posts
    897
    Are you using a pirate version of xp? If so, the upgrades cannot be installed through MS. Not sayng how I know lol
    If its pirated you won't be able to download service pack 2 either...
    Canons shooting coconut creme
    40 guns in a steady stream. :coolmad:

  10. #10
    Member Pique's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Posts
    57
    Even with a pirate version if you have valid, any valid, key the system will upgrade with microsoft's web site. All the web site does is check that the check sum value is correct. Hell I know of a person (not myself) that has four computers running a 'gray market' WinXP Pro (and he upgraded to SP2 with microsoft's web site) all with the same key and no problems.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Great Barrier Reef Fish "Starving To Death"
    By Serge in forum Off Topic
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 12-28-2006, 02:11 PM
  2. Great Barrier Reef Fish "Starving To Death"
    By Serge in forum Off Topic
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 12-28-2006, 12:38 PM
  3. Replies: 4
    Last Post: 08-24-2006, 12:59 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •