Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Shipping from US

Hi. I'm new to the hobby. I haven't got a tank yet, but I'm reading like a fiend. I think I'm obsessed.

I'm just wondering where Canadian reef-keepers get their livestock. I've come across a number of great sites, but the common theme seems to be that they only ship to addresses in the US. I'm starting to wonder if there's a law against exporting living creatures from the US. Are there good Canadian companies that you order from?

Thanks in advance.

Susan

ATC
    You can order directly from Ijo that runs this site and Ottawa should have lots of local places...little ole halifax has at least three local places that you can buy on site. If you do a google search for canadian+marine fish the canadian ones should pop up.
    Aven

Susan,
    One such good site is this one here that you're already on!! Ijo's ( Ivan) main reason for this site is because it is an online business. He sells livestock & drygoods. Other good places that are Canadian are JL aquatics and Saltwaterconnection. There are others also.
    The main reason American companies don't ship libe stuff as individual orders is because every order that crosses the borders nee a CITES permit attached to it. These are time and money consuming and not worth doing for each order. hey are usually done for retail or distributors only, not individual public sales.

Its always tricky when ordering livestock from the US,I was going to order some corals from Blain,and he told me its best that I drive to the border because they had held someone elses order at customs,they seem to still need alot of paperwork such as cities even if they were raised in captivity.

There are quite a few good online livestock dealers in Canada,Aquaria (this site),J&L Aqauticis,Aquarium Depot.
    HTH

ReefSalt

Before you buy anything......Read and Research .

Setup:
    265 gl SPS Reef. AquaScape Marco Rock 150lbs ( Upgrading to a 300gl Deep Dimension)