Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1
    Senior Member barry_c's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Posts
    232

    question on wiring 250 ballast

    hey, i purchased two of your 250 watt eballasts. on the ballast, it says 220 volt. usually 220 volt has three wires with a ground wire directly wired to the appliance. does the ground from the plug get wired onto the knob at the front of the ballast as well as to the reflector?
    Barry

    Patience is a virtue.

  2. #2
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Posts
    256
    The sticker above that should read 110 Volts. This was our first batch of prodcut so it had some minor imperfections like these.

    The ground wire should be hooked to the knob marked ground (both from the plug as well the reflector). May I suggest that you get an electrician for the wiring.
    Thanks

    Venki

  3. #3
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Posts
    256
    Double Post....

  4. #4
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Posts
    6,370

    Unhappy electrician

    Venki, dou you know what an electrician charges per hour It would make the ballast very expensive.
    Barry. I've seen the ballasts and there super simple. Get a 3 pronged cord,cut the ends off, wire the black&white to the same on ballast,ground wire just to the ground nut on the ballast. Then, run another wire from that same nut to anywere on your reflector with a screw. Very easy. P.S always use GFIC plugs![so ya don't die]

  5. #5
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Posts
    29
    I recieved mine the other day ...they too have the 220 volt sticker on them aswell...there are the 400 watt...are there 110 volt??

  6. #6
    Senior Member barry_c's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Posts
    232
    thanks J R. that is what i was thinking, just double checking. what gauge wire should be used? 14?
    Barry

    Patience is a virtue.

  7. #7
    AC Partner MomRules's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Posts
    875
    I hope you're writing all this down , Barry! It is starting to sound awfully "TECHNICAL"!!! and you know how I am with that stuff!:crap:
    Gail in Nova Scotia

  8. #8
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Posts
    6,370
    14 gauge is pretty heavy. Just use an extention cord to the ballast and the same to the lights[buy some cheap ones from WAL-MART]. It would be nice to see those ballasts with a quick disconnect opption.

  9. #9
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Posts
    6,370
    14 gauge is pretty heavy. Just use an extention cord to the ballast and the same to the lights[buy some cheap ones from WAL-MART]. It would be nice to see those ballasts with a quick disconnect opption.

Similar Threads

  1. wiring a MH Ballast
    By westmeath in forum Lighting, Filtration & Other Equipment
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 03-28-2008, 12:24 PM
  2. wiring the ballast
    By Bonaqua in forum DIY - Do it Yourself
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 04-06-2006, 11:47 AM
  3. Ballast Wiring
    By Chrispol in forum Lighting, Filtration & Other Equipment
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 12-05-2005, 08:57 PM
  4. Coralife ballast wiring question
    By fishmonger in forum Reef Discussion
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 10-18-2004, 10:13 AM
  5. need help wiring up my MH m58 ballast
    By mecka in forum Lighting, Filtration & Other Equipment
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 03-26-2004, 07:41 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •