Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Reef Keeping Hobby and the "R" Word

I work as a Financial Planner.

By now, I'm sure that everyone is aware, that world stock markets have gone through a significant sell-off over the past few weeks.

Stock markets are known in economics as "leading" indicators. This means that stock market activity tends to be indicative of what is coming economically. Right now, I can tell you guys, that the market sell-off around the world in that last three weeks means that investors as a collective certainly believe that we are now in, or are about to be in, a recession.

Reef keeping is an expensive hobby.

I'm curious as to how people feel. Are you worried about your own economic situation? Planning on getting out of the hobby? Delaying getting into the hobby?

having recently fired up the tank again after all the flatworms/redbugs/dinos
    I totally had to go about it on the cheap.only 2 MH instead of the 4 and things like that. it will be a mostly softie tank and some LPS so no need of reactors. all due to the cost of energy and impending costs coming like property tax increases.

my wife just told me on friday that all her WALMART stock for the past 5 years in GONE!!!!
    another staff member was looking to purchase a house last week and when they went to pull there money out for a FIRST TIME HOME BUYERS PLAN they got a shock! only 5 g left out of 15grand

Hey Johnny.

Exactly 5 years ago Walmart was trading at $58.95/share. Over that time period it was as low as $43.82 in Sep. 2005 and as high as $60.74 in Sep. 2008. Currently trading at $51.82 and carries a 1.8% dividend yeild. How can her stock be gone?

The stock market has taken a nasty dip for sure, but what the heck was your friend in that it lost 75% of it's value?

ijo
    I don't plan on changing anything as my tank is only a 26 gallon running T5's... cost to run is not an issue.

IJO