Thread: why a sump!!!!

why a sump!!!!

hello
    I'm new to the hobby. I have 125g tank 2 400w mh 2-96w atnic, tunze protein skimmer. Almost everybody has a sump why!!! Do you realy need one. Can you make one without having a drilled tank.
    thank you

Welcome to the hobby.

Your question should be, why NOT have a sump? You get your main display tank looking as clean as possible with a constant water line in one place. All mechanical goodies can be hidden and slowly added to the sump. Extra water volume for better stability. Safe areas to grow macroalgae and pods that the fish can't eat to extinction. reverse photo periods over refugiums to help keep ph more stable... If you're a real jack of all trades, you have a blast engineering your own plumbing, electrical, reactors, etc... The list goes on...

And no, you don't need the tank drilled.
    120g AGA~145 lbs Haitian LR~DA Reef Keeper 2 Controller~Dual 14k 250 DE MH's~Dual Overflows~Dual 250w Jager Heaters~Dual 96W Actinics~30g Sump/Refugium~Mag 12 Return~140 lbs Reefgrade Caribsea Aragonite~BubbleKing 180 Skimmer~Phosban Reactor~GEO Kalk Reactor~Powerheads:MP40w/Seio 820/modified Powersweep 270 with Hydor rotating deflector~Digital lighting timer for moon/fuge lighting~7 stage RODI filtration~Quarantine: modified 12.5g Marineland Eclipse

liv
    why a sump.. here's a few reasons:
    - less bubbles from the skimmer,
    - no heater wires showing up ( safer... less change of electrocution )
    - more space for a larger skimmer, reactors etc.
    - more space for a fuge, sensors, more LR for filtration
    - quieter
    - more to play with *( thats my personal awnser he he )
    - more water.. and easier to make water changes. ( redirect the return pumps flow to a drain )

the list goes on forever...

I strongly suggest you drill the tank for the sump to work properly,..or build a coast to coast external over and have that drilled instead.