Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    liv
    liv is offline
    Former Moderator liv's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Posts
    5,646

    anybody has an integrated sump in the tank ?

    Other then nano tanks of course.

    I'm looking at ways to minimize both heat loss and hydro ( pumps/heaters )
    and was thinking of building a longer or wider then needed tank that would be separated in the needed proportions across a wall. One side the tank, the other the sump.
    This would eliminate larger pumps needed to bring the water back up or the same pump could be used/t'd off to more options for the same water volume since I do not have to fight gravity.

    thinking something like a 40x30x18 reef side and a 40x24x18 sump side.

    Anyone seen this before ? I have seen a similar setup in the past, but can't find it now.

    This would also mean no holes at all in the tank's glass... no bulkheads etc.

    moving.. so temporarily out of SW :b8:
    planning next tank, possibly 60x30x20 on 2x plasma.
    updated: 2011/05/30

  2. #2
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Posts
    12

    sump

    you can just think of it as a refugium/sump beside the tank. done all the time. but you would need to feed water from the tank to that sump side. probaly need the sump/refugium higher than the tank to gravity feed so you would need to drill and have a small powerhead feeding the sump/refugium.
    you could actually feed a skimmer and then let the skimmer drain into the tank.

  3. #3
    Senior Member upthecreekwithoutapaddle's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Posts
    196

  4. #4
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Posts
    12
    liv, can you not fit a small sump underneath? a small maxijet 1200 feeding back to the tank uses nothing in hydro. unless you want to see the sump. seems like more work to do it side by side.

  5. #5
    liv
    liv is offline
    Former Moderator liv's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Posts
    5,646
    having the sump underneath also works.. but i loose more heat/ and use more hydro.

    moving.. so temporarily out of SW :b8:
    planning next tank, possibly 60x30x20 on 2x plasma.
    updated: 2011/05/30

  6. #6
    liv
    liv is offline
    Former Moderator liv's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Posts
    5,646
    also.. i do not believe i'd need that part higher.. as I could make a hole inside the seperating baffle and on the top its the coast to coast overflow, and in that hole its hooked up by a powerhead at the bottom pushing water back into the tank.. so the powerhead would be the direct feed amount that the coast to coast would receive at the top. it would be at the same level of water both sides.. probebly 2" from the top or close.

    moving.. so temporarily out of SW :b8:
    planning next tank, possibly 60x30x20 on 2x plasma.
    updated: 2011/05/30

Similar Threads

  1. can I set up sump on tank with fish in it?
    By gerry45 in forum Just Getting Started
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 01-06-2006, 12:33 PM
  2. 10G Tank w/ 10G Sump
    By JHG in forum Just Getting Started
    Replies: 13
    Last Post: 12-10-2005, 08:40 PM
  3. sump on top of tank
    By smashmouth in forum DIY - Do it Yourself
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 10-24-2004, 09:51 PM
  4. New Tank&SUMP
    By MINIATUS in forum Reef Discussion
    Replies: 21
    Last Post: 07-18-2004, 02:42 PM
  5. DSB in Sump vs tank
    By barry_c in forum Reef Discussion
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 11-14-2003, 03:53 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •