Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 12

Thread: Halimeda Plant

  1. #1
    Senior Member ALRHA's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Posts
    2,842

    Halimeda Plant

    I have recently added this to my tank and wanted to know if anyone has any experience/opinions on it.
    Furthermore, my Tang seems to be nibbling at it, could he just be trying it out then give up on it? or will he eat the whole thing?
    Albert
    My Photos

  2. #2
    Senior Member ALRHA's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Posts
    2,842
    Albert
    My Photos

  3. #3
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Posts
    6,370

    ALRHA

    take it out, IMO. It sucks up the calcium. They use it for substrate in a lot of foreign countrys so that tells you how much calcium it uses. I had it and got rid of it. Looks nice though.

  4. #4
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Posts
    5,122
    While I won't comment with as much passion as John..., I also agree that you'd be better off without it. Why add stuff that consumes or takes away from the corals which we already fight to keep in good condition. Why cause a competition for what they need to survive.

  5. #5
    Senior Member ALRHA's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Posts
    2,842
    even if i add calcium to my tank? Everything uses calcium, does it really suck out ALL the calcium in my water that it will be affecting the corals?
    Albert
    My Photos

  6. #6
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Posts
    6,370

    Cool ALRHA

    The plant grows a lot faster than the corals. If in the main tank you might have trouble getting rid of it after it takes hold.
    And, it will use lots of your calcium which at a premium cost why bother. There are tons of other MACRO's and KAULERPRA's that you can use if its for the refugium. Just be really careful if considering putting any plant/algea in your tank. Once they take hold look out! RAZOR/BLADE being one of the worst. I've had a rock with this on it and it sat in my sump in the dark for a month,it regrew as soon as I gave it light.

  7. #7
    Senior Member barry_c's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Posts
    232
    i have to disagree with Johnny and Toutouche on this one. i ran a 50 gallon with a 15 gallon refugium full of halimidia for a year and a half and i never had a problem with calcuim, it was always over 400. i think that after the halmidia established itself, and i had a bit of calcified "leaves" on the substrate, it helped maintained a constant calcium level in the tank. i've had my 90 gallon up for a month now, with the halmidia transfered to a 30 gallon refugium and when i tested my calcuim on monday, it was 465. i agree that it uses calcium, but not on the scale that everyone believes. however, there are much better macros out there that will absorb nutrients faster and not use calcuim that your tang will eat.
    Barry

    Patience is a virtue.

  8. #8
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Posts
    6,370

    Cool Halimeda

    They use dry out halimeda plant for substrate in a lot of countrys. It drys out to a hard as nails calcium/carbonate based product. So, it must be taking a lot of calcium out of the water? Now, you must be adding additives no? if you test and your low then you add, or if your on a good shedule then your always adding the same amount and testing good.If you didn't have the plant, then you would need to add less additives,The plant can't release the calcium back into a usable product for corals allive or dead. Just my oppion and research as I to have had the plant for a year. But, on the flip side it is nice looking[sorta like a cactus] and if you don't mind loosing the realstate and calcium then go ahead.

  9. #9
    Senior Member barry_c's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Posts
    232
    the only way that i replaced calcium was with water changes, which were once or twice a month. So when the halmidia dies and turns white, it will not release any calcuim back into the system? does it release any form of calcuim when it dies? if it is a calcium/carbonate based product, would it not provide some type of buffering capacity to the system?
    Barry

    Patience is a virtue.

  10. #10
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Posts
    6,370
    about as much buffering as the substrate we use in our tanks. very very little buffering, thats why in the Reactors we need to add Co2 to dissolve the media.[I believe the Co2 drops the ph value] were you dripping Kalk Barry? reason I ask is I've never seen any synthetic salts bring calcium up past 3oo,350 max. Could be the test kit was off at the time?

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. The Curse of Halimeda
    By emahoney in forum Just Getting Started
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 08-01-2008, 12:00 PM
  2. Red plant growing on sand bed???
    By megznsteve in forum Just Getting Started
    Replies: 13
    Last Post: 02-22-2008, 09:13 PM
  3. Best Plant Fertilizers ??
    By Anton in forum Reef Discussion
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 11-11-2004, 06:43 PM
  4. Halimeda Trading
    By art in forum AC Classifieds
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 10-27-2004, 05:07 PM
  5. Looking for Gracilaria, Halimeda, Ulva
    By thebigreddog! in forum AC Classifieds
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 10-27-2004, 04:59 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •