Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 34

Thread: phosphate?

  1. #1
    Senior Member atlantic's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Posts
    1,207

    Question phosphate?

    I was going to add some stuff to the cartrages in my emp 400. I was thinking about adding some phosphate ban or something similar along with some kent nitrate sponge.

    Where do phosphates come from in the tank and why are they a problem?
    Are there any other additives I should use instead?

  2. #2
    Senior Member Conan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Posts
    583
    Phosphates are nutrients just like nitrates. In a reef, you want as low as possible your amount of nutrients. Phosphate is a fertilizer and will give you algae blooms if left unchecked (experienced this myself)... It can be found in tap water, so by adding top ups to your tank, you might be adding phosphates, wich was my case. Even if only small amounts can be found in the tap water, the amount adds up in the tank and you have a problem on your hands. It is also released by fish urine and regular water changes will negate this effect. Phosphate X is a good remover, but if you stop the input of phosphates in you tank and do regular water changes, you should be fine.
    Do or do not. There is no "try" - Jedi Master Yoda

  3. #3
    Senior Member atlantic's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Posts
    1,207
    ahhh....thanks. thats the prob then with the algae problem im having then, prob from phosphates in my tap water.

  4. #4
    Senior Member Conan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Posts
    583
    yes, that would really make sense. I use distilled water myself to make shure there is no crap going in the water... RO water is good to.
    Good luck
    Do or do not. There is no "try" - Jedi Master Yoda

  5. #5
    Senior Member atlantic's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Posts
    1,207
    ya i have thought about a ro/do unit... i was thinking about trying one of the water filters from Kent/Homedepo

  6. #6
    Senior Member Conan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Posts
    583
    hmmm... never herd of the Kent one, but I assume it is good, since Kent products in general are good (and besides, they would not make a fiter that would let phosphates thru). Usually, the RO units are pretty expensive...
    Do or do not. There is no "try" - Jedi Master Yoda

  7. #7
    Senior Member atlantic's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Posts
    1,207
    no sorry...the brand is not kent.....there is a hardware store here like homedepo......but its called Kent home building ctr.

  8. #8
    Senior Member Conan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Posts
    583
    oh, I see.... then just make shure to check what the filter actually filters and what it lets pass through
    Do or do not. There is no "try" - Jedi Master Yoda

  9. #9
    Senior Member atlantic's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Posts
    1,207
    so how do i know if it is good or not? what should i look for?

  10. #10
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Posts
    6,370

    Cool atlantic

    Don't buy those HD tap units. Its not what you want or need. You need a good 4 ror 5 stage heavey duty RO/DI unit. There sold here at AC at a price that is insanely cheap. I have one as well and they work great.You should also get a TDS meter.
    I use tap water for a year and nothing but probs, now no probs. Theres alot more stuff in your water than you think and a cheapo filter will have a cheapo membrane.

Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. phosphate
    By zach in forum Water Quality
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 12-31-2006, 08:39 PM
  2. Is Phosphate the Problem?
    By drummer89 in forum Reef Discussion
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 02-14-2006, 08:57 PM
  3. Phosphate Help
    By drummer89 in forum Reef Discussion
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 01-24-2006, 08:24 PM
  4. How do you use your phosphate remover
    By ReefSalt in forum Lighting, Filtration & Other Equipment
    Replies: 14
    Last Post: 11-21-2005, 02:39 PM
  5. phosphate levels
    By thien in forum Just Getting Started
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 10-21-2003, 03:14 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •