Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

something unusual with my live rocks...

Hello, first I would like to congratulate all the members of this hobby. Ive been reading/learning off of you guys/gals for almost a month now.I am new to this hobby and realize that I don't know much. My question to you is this...can any one explain to me what this may be, yasterday I was sitting in front of my tank and all of a sudden this big white cloud came out from in between two rocks ( it look like someone was smoking under water. Then for about 5 minutes or so just a little smoke was coming out. so what can this be?
    anybody please...

could have been some little critter releasing sperm or eggs or burrowing into the rock and getting rid of dust...There are some types of clam, oyster, mussel that live imbedded in little holes of the rock. every now and then they must remove waste or try to spawn or burrow etc...Its pretty hard to say what it could be. Pretty neat to see stuff like that though, isn't it?
    Matt.

Old system torn down to make a playroom.. planning a 62x42x28 high

Thank you reefmutt for the info it's nice to know there is life in the tank when all you have is the live rocks and sandbed in there...

Sounds like a spawning event to me too. Sounds like you may have some pretty good live rock there. I'll bet you'll start seeing more and more signs of life over the next few weeks. This is all great for your tank.

Be patient - the longer you let the tank go before adding fish or predatorial inverts the better diversity of microfauna you'll have. It may seem like a pretty dull tank right now but a lot is going on in there at this point that can be crucial to the health of your reef in the long run.
    Susan

Senior Member tang_man_montreal's Avatar
    Here's another shot at what it could be.

Reading your description, I immediately thought that it could be a peanut worm expelling detritus and rock dust from a hole within your liverock.