Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Are my water changes adding to my hair algae outbreak?

I'm just wondering if I should stop my water changes. I have a green hair algae outbreak, which I've had for the last 4 months. It's a 180g tank. I introduced the algae accidently on a piece of coral thinking it was macro algae. I've been doing 20-30 gal water changes every week for the last 3 months with no improvment. My water test show no nitrite, nitrates, or phosphates. But of course it is feeding the algae and not showing up on the test. I use RO/DI water. I have a clean up crew, as well as a few surgeonfish. I also have a good skimmer running on my tank. I have also cropped this algae by hand too. I've added phospate remover, and carbon (phosphate free) to my sump. All my lights are new and still good. So I'm wondering if by adding new water by means of water changes, is helping to feed the hair algae? I know this can take months to clean out of the tank ( and unfortnunetly taking out all the rocks and scrubbing them isn't really an option I'm willing to do) So if anyone has a suggestion on something else I might try I'd be more then glad to give it a shot. Also I feed 2-3 times a week in small amount, of flake food, sometimes brine shrimp.

Sounds like you thought of everything except. . .what is your alk? Every reef plauge I every lived through was associated with low alk levels.

Just a thought.

Bill

Ahhh, the plague of hair aglea.

I sincerely, doubt that water changes are adding to the algae problem. If you are using RO/DI, then water changes are helping the situation, not adding to it.

Secondly, you didn't "introduce" hair algae accidentally. You may have added a piece of coral with hair algae on it, but if your tank parameters are conducive to hair algae growth, you would have gotten it anyway.