Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 13
  1. #1
    Senior Member aquamann's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Posts
    1,231

    Question 1000 GAL/HR too much flow for a 46?

    is it? i tell the guys at the lfs and they drop their jaws and tell me my fish wont be able to take it:OMG: . i dont have fish yet, but is it too much?v

  2. #2
    Senior Member aquamann's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Posts
    1,231
    i am getting a HOT skimmer and fuge from harley too. so any suggestions to hooking it all up? should i use my maxijets?

  3. #3
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Posts
    730
    Most people with SPS work towards 10 to 20 times the tank volume per hour. 46 times 20 = 920 gal/hour. Based on that, I don't think it is too much as long as there is enough rocks, etc. so there are some quiet spots as well. If heard of people having as high as 30 times!

    Vickie

  4. #4
    Senior Member ReefVan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Montreal, Qc
    Posts
    1,081
    You can always bleed off the pressure to another area if you find it excessive... go for it. After you buy a pump that's too small it's too late and the money is spent....
    It's not junk, it's un-assembled DIY!

  5. #5
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Posts
    356
    I have a 65 gallon tank.

    With a pump ( Mag9 ), powerheads ( 2 x Maxijet1200 + 1 x hagen301) and power filter ( 300 gallon an hour ) circulation, I have in theory 1910 gallons/hour circulation. That's almost 30 times. I do not consider I have too much current. Just right in my opinion .

  6. #6
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Posts
    6,370

    go for it

    Like Van said, you can always just tap into your return pipe right at the sump with a valve and adjust water there.If its to much to your liking then just divert some water right back into the sump. after all the plumbing is done it will slow down some anyways.

  7. #7
    Senior Member aquamann's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Posts
    1,231
    i have no sump

  8. #8
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Posts
    6,370
    ahh then your screwed depending on what pump you have you could drill your tank for closed loop.sorry, we assumed you were talking about a pump.are you? or are you adding up powerheads?

  9. #9
    Senior Member aquamann's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Posts
    1,231
    im talkin about ph's. i dont want to drill my tank. whatever i get needs to be Hang on the tank. thanks though

  10. #10
    Senior Member atlantic's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Posts
    1,207
    that is a whole lot of flow man....... but if your system can handle it....go for it.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Aqua Medic Turboflotor 1000 Multi SL Skimmer Problem
    By Reefer27 in forum Lighting, Filtration & Other Equipment
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 03-25-2009, 11:39 PM
  2. how much flow do I need?
    By gerry45 in forum Reef Discussion
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 01-06-2006, 04:59 PM
  3. Almost at 1000!
    By StephG in forum Suggestion/Question forum
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 11-16-2004, 07:29 PM
  4. HSA 1000 Skimmer:
    By scooby in forum Lighting, Filtration & Other Equipment
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 01-28-2004, 04:40 AM
  5. Turboflotor 1000 Skimmer for sale
    By pt109 in forum AC Classifieds
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 01-04-2004, 04:24 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •