Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Hi folks I am new to reef tanks and i am looking to purchase this tank, can you give me any tips. Is the tank worth it? Any info would be helpful.

Hi folks I am new to reef tanks and i am looking to purchase this tank, can you give me any tips. Is the tank worth it? Any info would be helpful.
    sorry here is the link

http://www3.ns.sympatico.ca/awatters/aquarium.htm

you might want to post this in a new thread, eggmann, so as not to disturb this one.

by the way - WELCOME to Aquaria Canada! i hope we'll be able to help you out here.
    Albert
    My Photos

Senior Member tang_man_montreal's Avatar
    Hi eggman,

I took the liberty of making a new thread for your question. I'm sure many more people will see it under it's own heading.

Oh, and by the way,

[welcome2]
    I am Homer of BORG... Prepare to be..OOOO!! DONUT!!!!!!

Well if I were in the area I'd consider buying it. I wouldn't use the fludizing bed or the porous ceramic rings, but the rest IMHO would be a decient and realitively inexpensive start.

Assuming it's all in good working condition.

Cheers!
    There is nothing so permanent as a temporary measure.

Hi folks,

Thanks for the responses i just have one question to Krugar, about why you would not use, the fluidizing bed or the porous ceramic rings; I am not sure what they do could you shed some light if you can please?
    The person is selling the tank because he is moving to New Zeeland and it seems to be like a fire sale at his place everything must go, he has much more stuff than just the aquarium for sale.

I looked into fluidizing beds for my fresh water tank & well the jury's out on if they actually do anything.

The theory is that the small particles are a host for bacteria which will change amonia -> nitrite -> nitrate. They're supposed to be better at this than a canister filter is and there in lies the problem.