Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 22
  1. #1
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Posts
    1,329

    Getting an Aquacontroller!!! ( Its just not for me ) What do i need to know

    Ok here's the scoop, i was telling the customers who's tank i work on about how you need a controller to monitor ORP if you are going to use an ozone generator, and then i digressed to how cool aquacontrollers are and he decided that he was going to get one!!! Its funny that i'm so excited and its not even for me, but i have wanted one for about a year now and i plan on getting one for myself down the road.

    So i've pretty much decided i will order from IVAN because he has been very good to me in the past and i think i'm going to get the combo 2 for 699.95.

    So i'd like to hear everything i can about getting these guys up and running, i'm going to order it asap too becuase he wants it set up right away.
    Mark
    50 Gal SPS/LPS Mixed Reef
    25 Gal Fuge
    Neptune Aquacontroller
    Pro Cal Calcium Reactor
    Acrylic City Kalk Reactor
    Euroreef CS6-3 Skimmer
    2x175W MH 1x250W MH 2x65W Actinics

  2. #2
    Senior Member tang_man_montreal's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Posts
    5,821
    You'll need more AM466 Appliance modules if you want to control things with the AQ2.
    Programming the AQ2 through the LCD is possible, however cryptic and difficult. I suggest that you get the Aquanotes software. Aside from making it easy to program the AQ2, this allows you to monitor the AQ2 remotely through a web interface, and will send you email alarms.

    If getting the software, you will also need the serial Interface cable, and the SERPIC9 Ground loop isolator.

    The language is easy to understand once you get the knack of it.

    Let me know if you have any questions.
    I am Homer of BORG... Prepare to be..OOOO!! DONUT!!!!!!

  3. #3
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Posts
    1,329
    I"ll definitivly have to hold off on the software, laying out 800$ is pretty incredible especially considering they have a 65 gal softy tank lol, i want the software for my own computer tho eventually i'll get it.
    I just want to program :
    Heater to come on if temp goes below 78 deg ( i've heard you should set the heater really high to ensure its always on when the controller tells it to be on ) and to shut the heater off at 80 deg, and the lights off if the temp goes above 84 deg
    I also want to set it to maintain ORP at 400 with an ozone generator
    How hard would it be to program these simple tasks in ?
    Mark
    50 Gal SPS/LPS Mixed Reef
    25 Gal Fuge
    Neptune Aquacontroller
    Pro Cal Calcium Reactor
    Acrylic City Kalk Reactor
    Euroreef CS6-3 Skimmer
    2x175W MH 1x250W MH 2x65W Actinics

  4. #4
    Senior Member tang_man_montreal's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Posts
    5,821
    Not hard.
    However you don't want to set the heater really high in case the X10 module fails to turn off.

    That's a pretty simple program, and you'll see it won't be too hard to enter via the interface.

    I'd set the heater to 79 degrees.
    Depending what the ORP is currently at, you set it to go up in small increments. Say for example your current ORP is 250, Bring it up about 15 per day adjusting the program daily.

    The program lines would be something like:

    IF TIME > 0:00 THEN ALM OFF (Always reset alarm condition)
    IF TEMP < 78.0 THEN HT1 ON (Heater on at 78 deg)
    IF TEMP > 80.0 THEN HT1 OFF (Heater off at 80 deg)
    IF ORP < 260 THEN OZN ON (Ozone on below 260)
    IF ORP > 265 THEN OZN OFF (Ozone off above 265)
    IF TEMP < 77 THEN ALM ON (Alarm Condition)
    IF TEMP > 81.0 THEN ALM ON (Alarm Condition)
    IF PH < 7.90 THEN ALM ON (Alarm Condition)
    IF PH > 8.30 THEN ALM ON (Alarm Condition)
    IF ORP < 240 THEN ALM ON (Alarm Condition)
    IF ORP > 280 THEN ALM ON (Alarm Condition, adjust as req)
    IF Power Fail THEN ALM ON (Alarm Condition)
    IF Battery Low THEN ALM ON (Alarm Condition)

    Adjust the ORP lines daily as you bring the ORP up.

    That's about it...
    I am Homer of BORG... Prepare to be..OOOO!! DONUT!!!!!!

  5. #5
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Posts
    1,329
    Thanks i'm sure that will help a bunch , can i program it at home before i bring it to their tank and set it up ?
    Mark
    50 Gal SPS/LPS Mixed Reef
    25 Gal Fuge
    Neptune Aquacontroller
    Pro Cal Calcium Reactor
    Acrylic City Kalk Reactor
    Euroreef CS6-3 Skimmer
    2x175W MH 1x250W MH 2x65W Actinics

  6. #6
    Senior Member tang_man_montreal's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Posts
    5,821
    No prob!
    Yes, you can program it at home. You will just have to have a 9v battery in there to retain the memory while you bring it to them.
    I am Homer of BORG... Prepare to be..OOOO!! DONUT!!!!!!

  7. #7
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Posts
    1,329
    Just out of curiosity how do you have yours set up ?
    Mark
    50 Gal SPS/LPS Mixed Reef
    25 Gal Fuge
    Neptune Aquacontroller
    Pro Cal Calcium Reactor
    Acrylic City Kalk Reactor
    Euroreef CS6-3 Skimmer
    2x175W MH 1x250W MH 2x65W Actinics

  8. #8
    Senior Member tang_man_montreal's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Posts
    5,821
    The programming behind the AquaController2 that is sustaining my reef.

    ACT$ = Icecap660 Ballast for Actinics
    MH1$ = MH 250w Ballast
    MH2$ = MH 250w Ballast
    MH3$ = MH 250w Ballast (not actually there yet)
    FAN% = Canopy Fans
    AC1% = AirConditioner Unit (not in use right now)
    SR1# = Sump Return Pump, Mag18
    CL1# = Closed Loop Pump, Reeflo Dart
    HT1% = Ebo 250w Heater
    HT2% = Ebo 250w Heater
    OZN& = RedSea 100mg/hr Ozonizer (not actually there yet)
    CO2& = Calcium Reactor (ID tag was there w/default program, don't actually have one yet...)
    ALM& = Alarm ID Tag

    If Time > 00:00 Then SR1 ON
    If Time > 09:00 Then ACT ON
    If Time > 22:30 Then ACT OFF
    If Time > 10:30 Then MH1 ON
    If Time > 20:30 Then MH1 OFF
    If Time > 11:00 Then MH2 ON
    If Time > 21:30 Then MH2 OFF
    If Time > 11:30 Then MH3 ON
    If Time > 22:00 Then MH3 OFF
    If Temp > 78.5 Then FAN ON
    If Temp < 77.8 Then FAN OFF
    If Temp > 80.5 Then AC1 ON
    If Temp < 80.0 Then AC1 OFF
    If Temp < 77.0 Then HT1 ON
    If Temp > 77.3 Then HT1 OFF
    If Temp < 50.1 Then HT1 OFF
    If Temp < 76.7 Then HT2 ON
    If Temp > 77.2 Then HT2 OFF
    If Temp < 50.0 Then HT2 OFF
    If Feed cycle Then CL1 OFF
    If ORP < 365 Then OZN ON
    If ORP > 385 Then OZN OFF
    If pH > 8.45 Then CO2 ON
    If pH < 8.35 Then CO2 OFF
    If Time > 00:00 Then ALM OFF
    If pH > 8.50 Then ALM ON
    If pH < 8.00 Then ALM ON
    If ORP > 430 Then ALM ON
    If ORP < 250 Then ALM ON
    If Temp < 76.5 Then ALM ON
    If Temp > 83.5 Then ALM ON
    If Power Fail Then ALM ON
    If Battery Low Then ALM ON

    - From the program, you can see how I incrementally turn on and off the lighting to somewhat simulate dawn and dusk.
    - The first line makes sure that my Sump Return pump is always running.
    - Depending on temperature, the AC2 will turn on/off my fans, or AirConditioner. If temperature exceeds a preset range, it will page me and email me.
    - I have a Feed button that allows me to shut down the closed loop for 300 seconds (5 mins) while I feed the tank. It will automatically start the pump back up after the time has lapsed.
    - ORP ranges are stated, and will turn on/off the Ozonizer (when I get one) to adjust levels automatically. Alarm will sound if out of range.
    - The PH statements are there even though I don't have a Calcium reactor controlled on the system yet. However I use the pH Alarm conditions.
    - The rest is pretty much self explanatory.

    I've opted to have the heaters controlled by the Aquacontroller even though they have their own thermostat.
    This allows for me to have more safety in case a heater fails. When they fail, they stay stuck ON. The Aquacontroller will guard against that.

    If the temp probe fails on the Aquacontroller, it displays 0-50 degrees as a temp. It is for this reason the next 2 statements are in the program. Just another safeguard.
    If Temp < 50.1 Then HT1 OFF
    If Temp < 50.0 Then HT2 OFF
    I am Homer of BORG... Prepare to be..OOOO!! DONUT!!!!!!

  9. #9
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Posts
    1,329
    Thats cool,
    Do you know of anyway for it to control an auto top off to prevent floods lol
    Mark
    50 Gal SPS/LPS Mixed Reef
    25 Gal Fuge
    Neptune Aquacontroller
    Pro Cal Calcium Reactor
    Acrylic City Kalk Reactor
    Euroreef CS6-3 Skimmer
    2x175W MH 1x250W MH 2x65W Actinics

  10. #10
    Senior Member tang_man_montreal's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Posts
    5,821
    Actually...

    Yes...

    The Aquacontroller has one switch input that can be used to control a powerhead, solenoid, etc...

    Or...

    I build Auto Top-off units for relatively cheap. Check the classifieds section. It's the 3 oldest ads in the equipment section.
    I am Homer of BORG... Prepare to be..OOOO!! DONUT!!!!!!

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. AquaController vs ReefKeeper
    By emahoney in forum Lighting, Filtration & Other Equipment
    Replies: 14
    Last Post: 07-14-2008, 12:20 AM
  2. Aquacontroller 3 PRO - Wireless?
    By Krugar in forum Lighting, Filtration & Other Equipment
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 06-08-2006, 03:20 PM
  3. DIY Aquacontroller
    By Dazz in forum DIY - Do it Yourself
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 05-27-2005, 08:47 PM
  4. NEW! Aquacontroller Jr.
    By tang_man_montreal in forum Lighting, Filtration & Other Equipment
    Replies: 21
    Last Post: 03-22-2005, 11:45 PM
  5. AquaController Review
    By ijo in forum Reef Discussion
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 10-02-2003, 03:05 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •