CAT

Just moved my critters 1718 klms...

I just moved back to Nova Scotia from Toronto and decided to take my tank inhabitants (lps,softies and fish) with me. I've had some experience doing this since I've moved 4 times in the last 3 years.

The last move was about a 5 hour drive from Ottawa to Toronto (Hi to the maso guys), but this trip took 2 days. The tank I moved last year was a 28 gallon bowfront with a 15 gallon refugium and everything fit (barely) in the wagon. But when it came to planning this move, I realized that I couldn't fit the rubbermaid tubs holding the crittersand rock, the tank and stand and refugium, and the rest of the junk I had to bring with me in the back of the Outback. Sooo, good excuse to buy a new tank. I picked up a really nice 40 gallon oceanic stretch hex with a matching cherry stand in Toronto and shipped it to N.S with the movers about 2 weeks before I left (Hubby was already in N.S.)

Basically, I tore down the old tank down the day before, hit the road for 2 days, then set up the new tank in N.S. on the 4th day.

Everything went according to plan except for one major problem - I'd bought a 300 watt power inverter to plug into the cigarette lighter in the car to plug in heaters. Unfortunately, the dang thing only actually handles 240 watts consistently (should have read the fine print). Murphy's law being what it is, the inverter did not shut itself off as advertised because the load was too much, the cigarette lighter blew out instead. Bottom line, I had no heat while we were driving. Made for a very nervous trip...

For 2 days on the road, the temp in the tubs would drop to about 72 during the day until we hit a motel the first night and the house the second night when I could plug the heaters back in. Luckily, I was using battery powered air pumps so oxygen was not a problem.