Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: Overflow Boxes

  1. #1
    Senior Member jagger's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Posts
    185

    Overflow Boxes

    can anyone tell me where to buy internal overflow boxes???

  2. #2
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Posts
    6,316
    Skip the box all together ... read this thread.

    http://aquariacanada.com/forums/show...8954#post58954

    Rob

  3. #3
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Posts
    870
    bui;d it your self with plexi

  4. #4
    Senior Member papafish's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Posts
    169
    I agree with Rob on that thread, it is the most reliable way. But, it won't help you if your tank is set-up... full of water and critters. I've tried many different over-flow boxes, and reverted back to Marineland. It is the quietest, with their unique baffle design. If you pm me, I'll tell you a few tricks, to increase it's capacity to flow approx. 25% more as well as a way to prevent it from loosing it's flow during power outages.

  5. #5
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Posts
    6,316
    pappfish .. a fixed position overflow box can not continue to act as an over flow in a power failure because the sump return pump will not be adding water to the tank??? If anything you WANT it to stop working so that the sump will not overflow. Stand pipes also as a rule do not need priming so there is no need to do that when power returns. I think you may be thinking about something different like an over the back overflow box for un-drilled tanks?

    Harley builds and sells internal overflow boxes.
    Rob

  6. #6
    Senior Member papafish's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Posts
    169
    I got confused Rob....if the tank is already drilled....I guess it's in the bottom.....hence the internal over-flow!! do di do di do.....it was early when I posted that. I wish these clownfish spawns would hatch in the daylight hours so I could get some sleep!!

  7. #7
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Posts
    5,122
    Papafish,
    You can also have an internal just n the back wall as it is the size of a smallish box near the top.

    Andrew,
    You can have Harley make you them or simply build them yourself out of acrylic..., you're good with your hands ( not that there's anything wrong with it!!!...).

  8. #8
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Posts
    471

    LOL
    You can have Harley make you them or simply build them yourself out of acrylic..., you're good with your hands ( not that there's anything wrong with it!!!...).
    andrew just send me the dimension you need

  9. #9
    Senior Member jagger's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Posts
    185
    Harley check out this link it describes the tank, i'm not sure what size i need....if you don't understand the drawing let me know....thanks again Harley http://aquariacanada.com/forums/show...&threadid=5391

Similar Threads

  1. Cleaning out PM boxes
    By Zookeeper in forum Suggestion/Question forum
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 02-06-2004, 04:28 PM
  2. PM BOXES!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! empty em please
    By john rock in forum Reef Discussion
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 12-12-2003, 06:51 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •