Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 16

Thread: sump move

  1. #1
    Senior Member steve666's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Posts
    628

    sump move

    i am considering moving my 30g sump from under the tank, and relocating a larger one in the basement. Is there any issues with this i realise a larger pump will be needed, anything else?
    Its a noise issue, and to give myself more room for tinkering, and i thought it may help with overheating in the far off summer months, any ideas, advice?

  2. #2
    Senior Member steve666's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Posts
    628
    .
    We need more Indians!

  3. #3
    Senior Member steve666's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Posts
    628
    the more i think about it the more sense it makes, no leaks upstairs etc etc.
    there will be 8' between the two tanks, anyone no how to size pumps, i am thinking of going with an external pump, less heat, does anyone have any recommendations?
    Thanx guys
    We need more Indians!

  4. #4
    Senior Member tang_man_montreal's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Posts
    5,821
    Is this for the 65g tank?
    What's the current pump being used?
    Do you wanna keep similar flow rates with the relocated sump?
    I am Homer of BORG... Prepare to be..OOOO!! DONUT!!!!!!

  5. #5
    Senior Member steve666's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Posts
    628
    this is for the 65, i will probably increase the sump to a 65g also. My pump at the moment is a mag 7, which is not perfect, i would like to increase the flow probably a mag 9 would be good as it is now.
    We need more Indians!

  6. #6
    Senior Member tang_man_montreal's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Posts
    5,821
    When you say there's going to be 8' of distance, is that in height between the sump and display?

    What's the current distance between the sump and display, and is there enough flow to you liking?
    I am Homer of BORG... Prepare to be..OOOO!! DONUT!!!!!!

  7. #7
    Senior Member steve666's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Posts
    628
    yes eight foot in height between the display tank and the proposed position of the sump.
    No the mag 7 does not give enough flow, because of bends etc. I think a mag nine would have been a better choice. There is approx four foot of height (seven ft of actual pipe run) at the moment between the sump and display tank.
    We need more Indians!

  8. #8
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Posts
    6,316
    Steve put the sump in the basement if you like but have it on the top shelf of a stand that can also have other shelfs for whatever. Doing this will reduce the head by as much as 5 to 6 feet
    Rob

  9. #9
    Senior Member steve666's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Posts
    628
    i'm gonna put it on a four ft stand rob, i cant go any higher cos i need to work in it, this will still leave 8' of head but the pipe work will go straight to the tank with only 2 90's and one t, which is better than now, about 8 90's, 1 t.
    We need more Indians!

  10. #10
    Senior Member tang_man_montreal's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Posts
    5,821
    Steve,

    Here's a headloss chart for the Mag9.5.


    At 7ft it will be at 600gph, not including pipe friction loss, etc...

    Maybe a Mag12 would better suit the bill? 900gph at 7ft....

    I am Homer of BORG... Prepare to be..OOOO!! DONUT!!!!!!

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. The big move...
    By solowma in forum Member Tanks
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 06-17-2008, 11:10 PM
  2. Big Move
    By thisisthepart in forum Reef Discussion
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 03-23-2008, 02:55 PM
  3. The Big Move!!
    By mike536 in forum Off Topic
    Replies: 13
    Last Post: 07-02-2006, 11:58 AM
  4. do they move?
    By Swimfins in forum Just Getting Started
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 09-04-2005, 03:22 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •