Thread: Water Tests

Water Tests

Hi All,

Just wondering what water tests everyone performs on their tanks. Currently I have been testing Nitrate, Nitrite, Ammonia and PH since my tank is only a few months old and I am wondering what other test kits would you consider absolutely mandatory and what test kits are less important. (Now I know they are probably all important but if you could only perform 3-4 tests what would they be ?)

rj
    Banned
    Just my opinion here....but unless you see problems with your tank...test kits are a waste of money....having said that I'll quantify...I have mainly sofites in my tank...cal and alk arent really a concern to me staying real high....I use B-Ionic to maintain the levels...when I see a problem I'll try to deduce the problem...and if need be use test kits...

Haven't had to in over 3 years....

Your tank will speak to you!

RJ

ijo
    I agree... people seem to test a lot in the begining but soon realize the results don't really change much. I don't test for anything but calcium at this time and only test for ammonia and nitrates if I notice something wrong with the corals.

I'm not saying don't buy test kits... Its always good to have test kits handy for when you need them. There will be problems in your setup at some time in its life and test kits will help you pinpoint the problem(s).

IJO

I agree with IJO, you should have some test kits handy just in case you see something looking weird in your tank. If nothing else it will calm your first reactions of doing something drastic and really messing your ecosystem up.
    You will get to know your tank inhabitants quite well and when things don't look up to par you can do a test or too.
    Also depending on what type of corals you wish to keep will depict in some way what type of test you will have and consiquently what types of additives you need.
    I would say for starters:
    ALK or PH
    Calcium
    Nitrate