Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Posts
    715

    grounding probes

    How important is this? Do most of you use them?

  2. #2
    liv
    liv is offline
    Former Moderator liv's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Posts
    5,646
    good question Mike, no idea either if anybody has some. I dont but heard mixed reviews on them.. like adding electricity in your tank.. specially when running vacuum etc.

    moving.. so temporarily out of SW :b8:
    planning next tank, possibly 60x30x20 on 2x plasma.
    updated: 2011/05/30

  3. #3
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Posts
    715
    I am asking this because i noticed that my euroreef skimmer only skimms(producing foam) when the lights are off for some reason. I was told that my lights might have a stray current making an ionic imbalance or that i am pulling too much current from my circuit and i should try putting my skimmer on another circuit.
    "The significant problems we face cannot be solved at the same level of thinking we were at when we created them."
    - Albert Einstein (1879-1955)

  4. #4
    Moderator mike536's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Posts
    1,782
    how do they work ???? One end go in the water and the other end grounded to the house or stuckin the ground??? I have no clue I have a grounding spike at for my welding machine. Now it's like four feet long. I think that would be a little over kill!!! :smile4:
    Cheers,
    Mike Philpott

  5. #5
    Senior Member jklink's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Posts
    159
    odds are that you aren't pulling too much current from your circuit, if you did that and your house is properly wired you'd flip a breaker / fry a fuse.

    as for your lights causing something, that's not too fishy. Good ballasts will be properly grounded and as long as you haven't got wires leaking out of your hood you should be okay

    I'd say more than anything that the heat in your tank hitting the water surface would cause the foam more than a current doing anything.

  6. #6
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Posts
    201
    you would be surprised at some of the readings you can get ....put one lead in the water and the other on a grd. item ...I had a power head giving me a fault at one time ...always good to do every season just like replacing a battery in a smoke detector

Similar Threads

  1. Titanium Grounding Probe
    By manster in forum Lighting, Filtration & Other Equipment
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 09-28-2009, 08:37 PM
  2. Grounding probe
    By mdugly in forum Lighting, Filtration & Other Equipment
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 11-04-2006, 06:20 AM
  3. New probes
    By Krugar in forum Lighting, Filtration & Other Equipment
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 10-05-2006, 11:14 PM
  4. Grounding The aquarium???
    By volitan in forum Just Getting Started
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 01-13-2004, 04:53 PM
  5. Grounding Probe
    By percula99 in forum Reef Discussion
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 05-25-2003, 10:57 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •