Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: backyard ponds?

  1. #1
    Senior Member ktown's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Posts
    277

    backyard ponds?

    Sorry this has nothing to do with my reef tank. But im sure some of you guys and girls also have vintured into the back yard pond hobbie. Compared to careing for a reef tank. This should be simple... lol. the hard part is dinging the hole! I hurt my back over the last two days in the process of laying a flat rock patio and digging a hole for a pond. anyways...

    I got thinking about the depth of my pond and before i get to involved. I want to know if it will be ok for wintering gold fish?

    The size is 5 x 5 in the shape of a triangle. i have a 2' section in the middle and the sides are around 1' deep.

    What do you people think? should i dig deeper for fish?

  2. #2
    Moderator cres's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Posts
    1,963
    I believe you need more depth to overwinter in the pond.

    Both Lotus02 and ReefSalt (aka RobinL) have ponds (and likely others too).
    Sarchasm: The gulf between the author of sarcastic wit and the person who doesn't get it.

  3. #3
    Senior Member ReefSalt's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Posts
    1,450
    Hi Ktown,

    Usually you need a 4' depth to be capable of keeping them over the winter.
    I made mine 5' this year due to our cold winters and didnt want to risk it.Prior it was 3-4' aprox and only one year out of the 7 years my pond is running did I loose my fish due to extreme cold temperatures that year.
    HTH

    ReefSalt

    Before you buy anything......Read and Research .
    _________________________

    Setup:
    265 gl SPS Reef. AquaScape Marco Rock 150lbs ( Upgrading to a 300gl Deep Dimension)
    Ecotech Radion Pro x 4 & Ecotech ReefLink
    Decante 75g
    Pompe de Remonte PCX55
    Reef Octopus SRO-5000SSS
    Reacteur Sulphur H&S Pour Nitrate
    2x Phosban 550

    Frag Tank:
    Perfect0 45 cube sur le system central
    Totoka LR 50lb
    Radion Gen2
    Vortech MP10W

  4. #4
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Posts
    204
    My pond is 3.5' deep but we run a pump all winter to keep an opening in the ice. If your pond freezes completely over then there is no way for toxins to leave the water hans dead fish in the spring.
    ALL POSTS & REPLIES ARE IMO

    Hardware:
    180 gal. Reeftank 2hole drilled
    70gal long sump with fuge,
    EuroReef ES8-3 skimmer,
    Reeftek reactor, sms122 ph/CO2 controller,
    Mag 18 return closed loop return.
    Mag 24 return
    Icecap dual175 20k MH, 250 20k MH center, 2 actinic, 2 -actinic white VHOs
    Livestock:
    1 Pajama cardinal, Lawnmower blenny, Sohal tang , Regal tang, 10 Clams, Scooter blennie, Yellow wrasse, DESJARDIN TANG (SAIL FIN),2 percs

  5. #5
    Senior Member ktown's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Posts
    277
    So does everyone keep there pumps running over the winter?
    TANK -35 Gallon with 15 gallon sump/fuge
    LIGHTS - T5HO 36" 165 total watts
    FLOW - Mag 7, fluval 304, 201 powerhead
    OTHER - seaclone 100 skimmer, RO/DI water

  6. #6
    Senior Member ReefSalt's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Posts
    1,450
    I do, but I swap out my large pump and place a smaller pump instead.
    HTH

    ReefSalt

    Before you buy anything......Read and Research .
    _________________________

    Setup:
    265 gl SPS Reef. AquaScape Marco Rock 150lbs ( Upgrading to a 300gl Deep Dimension)
    Ecotech Radion Pro x 4 & Ecotech ReefLink
    Decante 75g
    Pompe de Remonte PCX55
    Reef Octopus SRO-5000SSS
    Reacteur Sulphur H&S Pour Nitrate
    2x Phosban 550

    Frag Tank:
    Perfect0 45 cube sur le system central
    Totoka LR 50lb
    Radion Gen2
    Vortech MP10W

  7. #7
    Senior Member ktown's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Posts
    277
    what do you use for a pump? make? size?
    TANK -35 Gallon with 15 gallon sump/fuge
    LIGHTS - T5HO 36" 165 total watts
    FLOW - Mag 7, fluval 304, 201 powerhead
    OTHER - seaclone 100 skimmer, RO/DI water

  8. #8
    Senior Member ReefSalt's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Posts
    1,450
    I use a submersible Gen X GX18000 T off too split and feed a waterfall and a stream.It pumps 4750 gph.
    HTH

    ReefSalt

    Before you buy anything......Read and Research .
    _________________________

    Setup:
    265 gl SPS Reef. AquaScape Marco Rock 150lbs ( Upgrading to a 300gl Deep Dimension)
    Ecotech Radion Pro x 4 & Ecotech ReefLink
    Decante 75g
    Pompe de Remonte PCX55
    Reef Octopus SRO-5000SSS
    Reacteur Sulphur H&S Pour Nitrate
    2x Phosban 550

    Frag Tank:
    Perfect0 45 cube sur le system central
    Totoka LR 50lb
    Radion Gen2
    Vortech MP10W

  9. #9
    Senior Member ktown's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Posts
    277
    how large is your pond? Im going to try building a water fall as well. Im thinking about using foam to carve out the shape i want. then cover it with cement and rocks. how did you build your water fall?
    TANK -35 Gallon with 15 gallon sump/fuge
    LIGHTS - T5HO 36" 165 total watts
    FLOW - Mag 7, fluval 304, 201 powerhead
    OTHER - seaclone 100 skimmer, RO/DI water

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 15
    Last Post: 04-22-2010, 06:37 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •