Page 1 of 5 123 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 44
  1. #1
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Posts
    1,329

    Input needed from aquacontroller users

    Hi,
    I'm thinking seriously about purchasing an aquacontroller in the next few weeks, and i was looking for some input into what upgrades to get and initial setup and just general thoughts on them
    Mark
    50 Gal SPS/LPS Mixed Reef
    25 Gal Fuge
    Neptune Aquacontroller
    Pro Cal Calcium Reactor
    Acrylic City Kalk Reactor
    Euroreef CS6-3 Skimmer
    2x175W MH 1x250W MH 2x65W Actinics

  2. #2
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Posts
    1,329
    Anyone ??
    Mark
    50 Gal SPS/LPS Mixed Reef
    25 Gal Fuge
    Neptune Aquacontroller
    Pro Cal Calcium Reactor
    Acrylic City Kalk Reactor
    Euroreef CS6-3 Skimmer
    2x175W MH 1x250W MH 2x65W Actinics

  3. #3
    Moderator mike536's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Posts
    1,782
    I think the only one on here that had a controller is Volitian(Derik). I think he's busy building his new house.
    Cheers,
    Mike Philpott

  4. #4
    Senior Member volitan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Posts
    3,051
    sorry for the delay mark,

    Ther aquacontroller is awsome..i have the package withg the orp,ph,temp...im sure you know all his functions...it controls EVERYTHING...i have mine on the web so i can check it out every day,it sends me an alarm if the parameters are off...like lately my temp went up to 86 and at 83 it sent me an email telling me that....i just openned an extra fan....im in emonton alberta right now and i control everything on my tank via my web....I will also get the dc8 power unit...instead of having all thoise x10 its 8 plugs that the controller controls it....It think its worth every single penny....
    Derik...

  5. #5
    Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Posts
    69
    I agree with Volitan, worth every penny. I have my alarm response text to my cell phone, very handy and has saved my tank more than once.

    Volitan, I'm not set-up on the web yet, what is involved to do this and is it very difficult?

  6. #6
    Moderator mike536's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Posts
    1,782
    All I know is i'd love to have one!!!!But im poor.LOL
    Cheers,
    Mike Philpott

  7. #7
    Senior Member volitan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Posts
    3,051
    you need xp pro...not the home version...or windows 98 SE...Vince(taang man montreal)showed me hgow to do it..its not that hard..do you have aquanotes?
    Derik...

  8. #8
    Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Posts
    69
    Yes, I have Aquanotes. It makes using the Aquacontroller much easier. I also like the way it automatically logs the tank parameters. Unfortunately I have Windows ME

  9. #9
    Senior Member ALRHA's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Posts
    2,842
    I have the Aquacontroller Jr and i love it. it controls everything as well, except for ORP and does not connect to a computer. It is a little cheaper but to me it was well worth it. having it now, i dont know how i ever lived without it. i basically control my whole tank based on the Temp and pH (and of course time). go for it, you wont regret it.
    Albert
    My Photos

  10. #10
    Senior Member tang_man_montreal's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Posts
    5,821
    I'm running an Aquacontroller 2 with Aquanotes on a dedicated laptop for my tank.

    As everyone has mentioned, it's a great unit and gives me peace of mind. Whenever a parameter goes out of a range that I specify, it will send me an email to my cell phone letting me know.

    VERY easy to program. I'm just not too keen on the x10 modules. If you have a noisy appliance ANYWHERE in the house, it will interfere with the x10 communication.
    Using a Neptune Systems DC8 would definately be a safer route to go. If you have the cash for it, get it.
    I am Homer of BORG... Prepare to be..OOOO!! DONUT!!!!!!

Page 1 of 5 123 ... LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Need advice and input on this setup!!!
    By Adam Reynolds in forum Reef Discussion
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 10-28-2008, 09:32 PM
  2. Any Aquacontroller 2 users here?
    By tang_man_montreal in forum Lighting, Filtration & Other Equipment
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: 12-19-2003, 02:56 PM
  3. Any Aquacontroller 2 users here?
    By tang_man_montreal in forum Reef Discussion
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 12-07-2003, 05:42 AM
  4. Sump design input
    By supertanker in forum DIY - Do it Yourself
    Replies: 84
    Last Post: 11-01-2003, 02:31 AM
  5. All input wanted!!!!
    By mouse6196 in forum Reef Discussion
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 03-29-2003, 11:28 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •