Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Diatom Madness!

Diatom Madness!

Well I'm still at my wit's end with diatoms and decided to get some input from wetwebmedia. Here is my email and the awnser as seen for today on the Daily FAQ's on their site:
    Diatom Madness!
    Hello Crew of WWM.
    <Hi there! Scott F. here today!>
    I will start by saying thanks for all the work you have put into this great site! I have found a lot of information in all the FAQ's and links here.
    <Awesome! Glad that you have enjoyed the site!>
    I do need some input here for a problem I have been battling for close to 9 months now. I have gone through the web and your site many times (read countless hours) and have implemented some ideas but to no avail. I would like to get your input if you can find some time please. I also regret that my message is going to be so long but I want to give you as much information as possible.
    <Very helpful!>
    All started with a 4 year old set-up of 110 g. that was actually running without any problems. In October of 2004 we up-graded to our "dream set-up" that has been a nightmare ever since!
    Here is the set-up (all is running as 1)
    Basement 220 g (6 feet long.)
    (3x 400W 10k and 2 VHO actinics)
    3x Seio Powerhead 1500
    1 PH 500 gph
    3x DIY "sprinklers"
    1 Maxijet for surface (all to say I do have a lot of movement in these tanks)
    2 Yellow Tangs, 1 Regal Tang, 1 Purple Tang, 1 cleaner wrasse,1 A. Clarkii ,1 A. ocellaris,1 Lawnmower Blenny,2 Firefish
    SPS corals (very few, just started with frags donated),1 Heteractis magnifica anemone
    <Nice; but not a really good idea to keep with SPS corals, IMO.>
    On top 1st floor 125g (5 feet long):
    (VHO 1 daylight/ 1 actinic)
    2x Seio PH 620 gph
    1 Seio PH 1100 gph