Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Calcium/Alkalinity - Confusion

Hi folks, I'm relatively new to the hobby and so far feel the research I have done is paying off. But one topic that I find very confusing is the relationship between calcium and alkalinity, and what levels I should be striving for in my FOWLR tank.

Here's my concern, since my tank was started 4 months ago my PH has been very stable. I always get a reading of 8.2. Because I have 75lbs of LR - I want good coraline growth. I decided I better start paying attention to other readings beyond - ammonia, ph, nitrite, nitrate, salinity and temp. I bought both Hagen Calicium and Carbonate Hardness test kits. I also have Seachem Reef Builder and Marine Buffer as supplements along with their liquid Reef Calcium. I add the Marine Buffer whenever I do top off's. As far as the Reef Builder - my lfs told me to add a little (follow directions) twice a week..

My concern is this: my Calcium tests are coming back alarmingly low - 200 mg/l. When I test my Alkalinity or Carbonate Hardness it seems too high - 210 mg/l or 11.76(dkh). I've since stopped adding the Reef Builder and have increased my doses of Reef Calcium. Does this seem like the right corrective action? How concerned should I be with the calcium and ALk readings?

All other readings look good - Ammonia - 0, nitrite 0, nitrates 10mg/l, temp 78, salinity 1.023. I do a 15% water change every 2 weeks and use Instant Ocean salt for the changes. Any comments would be appreciated as I find this topic and the relationship between the chemicals confusing - even after reading a lot of other posts on the Internet!

Re: Calcium/Alkalinity - Confusion

[i]. Does this seem like the right corrective action? How concerned should I be with the calcium and ALk readings? [/B]
    You're doing o.k.

Stop the alkalinity, and continue with the calcium additive. Then measure again.