Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

clown too big for bta?

i just got a small bta, about 2 inches across. i have a pair of ocellaris, with the female being about 1.5 inches. i was really surprise today when i saw the female clown taking an interest in the bta. i'm kinda worried that the clown is stressing the bta too much since it's so big. i also saw the clown trying to bite or open the bta's mouth after i just feed the bta a piece of shrimp. i don;t think this is normal, what can i do?
    Vu

the clown will take food from the bta, that is normal.
    Feed the clowns first, let them have some shrimp of their own.

If the bta is healthy it will have no problem with the clowns. It'll double in size in no time at all.
    125G in wall
    2 x 250 hqi
    4 x 4' actinics
    tunze wavemaker & 6060
    2 x 1200 maxi's
    quiet one 3000

...just started of course

One day my daughter asked me for Nemo. Here we are thousands later and I'm just getting started.

i thought clown were suppost of protect the bta and give it food not take it away. the bta just threw up the piece of shrimp that i gave it, it ate it all and then spat it out. does this mean it;s full or soemthing? i did feed the bta a piece of shrimp for hte past 2 days. how often should i feed it? how do i know if teh clown is being too rough or not?
    Vu

give it a very small chunk once a week.

The clowns will take food from the bta. It's normal.
    125G in wall
    2 x 250 hqi
    4 x 4' actinics
    tunze wavemaker & 6060
    2 x 1200 maxi's
    quiet one 3000

...just started of course

One day my daughter asked me for Nemo. Here we are thousands later and I'm just getting started.

Ahhhh but there is such a thing as tooooo much love from a clown towards an anemone! My clarkki grounded my BTA to the ground from "loving" it too much. The best thing is to observe and see if the clowns are too rough on it isolate the BTA for a while to give it time to grow bigger and stronger.
    Carol