Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 12
  1. #1
    Senior Member barry_c's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Posts
    232

    DSB in Sump vs tank

    Well, i'm getting close to setting up my 90 gal with my old 50gal as a sump.

    so here's the question, should i set my DSB up in the sump or in the main tank? what do you think?
    Barry

    Patience is a virtue.

  2. #2
    Senior Member tang_man_montreal's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Posts
    5,821
    If I could do it again, I would do it in the sump. This way, if the need ever came up, you could take the DSB out without needing to tear down your main tank.

    A 1" "dusting" of sand would suffice in the main tank.
    I am Homer of BORG... Prepare to be..OOOO!! DONUT!!!!!!

  3. #3
    Senior Member barry_c's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Posts
    232
    so if you have 1 inch of sand in the main tank, is cleaning of the sand necessary? or should there be enough critters in it after awhile to keep it clean?
    Barry

    Patience is a virtue.

  4. #4
    Senior Member barry_c's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Posts
    232
    also, how does all the small sand particals affect pump life?
    Barry

    Patience is a virtue.

  5. #5
    Senior Member tang_man_montreal's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Posts
    5,821
    A cleanup crew should be able to keep the sand clean.

    As for the sand particles, I would house the return pump in a separate chamber within the sump so that no sand actually gets to the pump.
    I am Homer of BORG... Prepare to be..OOOO!! DONUT!!!!!!

  6. #6
    Senior Member ALRHA's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Posts
    2,842
    Originally posted by barry_c
    so if you have 1 inch of sand in the main tank, is cleaning of the sand necessary? or should there be enough critters in it after awhile to keep it clean?
    do u have to "clean" the DSB in the main tank? i just stir it up every now and then (twice a month?) i figure this would refresh "dead" spots
    Albert
    My Photos

  7. #7
    Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Posts
    36
    I only recently upgraded to my 75g Oceanic and it is BB (Bare Bottom). Separate sump and refugium with DSB. I'm really, really pleased with the maintenance requirements, or relative lack thereof, and the ability to get much more flow over the reef. I decided to try the new one this way based on some of the talk on RC and so far, I very much like it. Time will tell.

  8. #8
    Senior Member ALRHA's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Posts
    2,842
    but i feel that BB loses the "natural" look. - not to mention some fish and inverts would not feel at home on a glass floor.
    Albert
    My Photos

  9. #9
    Senior Member barry_c's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Posts
    232
    i agree with alrha, doesn't look natural and would stress some of our inhabitants.
    Barry

    Patience is a virtue.

  10. #10
    Senior Member Flame*Angel's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Posts
    3,332
    I'm a huge fan of deep sand beds.

    I'm not convinced that a remote bed would function as well as an in tank one. To be a true DSB it would have to be fed. Also, detritus from the main tank wouldn't necessarily find it's way to the remote DSB. The critters that spawn in the DSB wouldn't necessarily benefit the main tank as well either, some would get through the sytem but not as much. A remote DSB couldn't really have good circulation or it would blow the sand around too much but less circulation would mean it wouldn't benefit the main tank as much too.

    There's huge controversy over this topic on Reef Central but I guess I'm just not convinced that DSBs cause the problems that have been attributed to them. The nutrient sink story definitely doesn't wash. If you could see the amount of food I dump in every day (about the equivalent of 8 cubes a day right now) by rights my tank should be absolutely foul. I really think that the extra food is why my DSB functions as well as it does, my nitrates are always between 1.5 and 2.5.

    A remote refugium to help keep the pod population up with a deep sand bed in it is a great idea though. I feed my refugium a ton too.
    Susan

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. can I set up sump on tank with fish in it?
    By gerry45 in forum Just Getting Started
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 01-06-2006, 12:33 PM
  2. 10G Tank w/ 10G Sump
    By JHG in forum Just Getting Started
    Replies: 13
    Last Post: 12-10-2005, 08:40 PM
  3. sump on top of tank
    By smashmouth in forum DIY - Do it Yourself
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 10-24-2004, 09:51 PM
  4. New Tank&SUMP
    By MINIATUS in forum Reef Discussion
    Replies: 21
    Last Post: 07-18-2004, 02:42 PM
  5. looking for tank suitible for a sump
    By tha_MAN in forum ARRG
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 01-26-2004, 04:35 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •