Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: calicum gages

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Posts
    17

    calicum gages

    Does any one you know have one or got a pal around with one, care to share their their opinion..........
    TOMJ

  2. #2
    Moderator Krugar's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Posts
    3,174
    I heard some talk about a calcuim monitor being developed, but I suspect it's going to be pricey. I'm not aware of any existing equipment that will monitor your calcium.

    For a test kit, I recommend Salifert kits, Ivan sells them here. Just got one last night
    There is nothing so permanent as a temporary measure.

  3. #3
    Senior Member pwall's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Posts
    2,326
    Pinpoint has a calcium monitor available, but not cheap....approximatley $250 US. And configuring it is a pain apparenty.
    Nonetheless, would love to have one...hate chemistry kits.

    http://www.americanmarineusa.com/
    Regards,
    Patrick.
    Ottawa (Orleans), Ontario
    Yahoo IM: pwallnfld

  4. #4
    Moderator Krugar's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Posts
    3,174
    Cool, I should have looked I didn't realise it was available yet. Didn't they just announce it was in the works?

    Still $250 US isn't terrible, I wonder how often it needs recalibration? The probe's $150 US, anyone know how long they last?

    Cheers!
    There is nothing so permanent as a temporary measure.

  5. #5
    Senior Member tang_man_montreal's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Posts
    5,821
    From what I've read, the Pinpoint CA monitors should be calibrated at each use. Which makes for an extremely long test. As long, or longer, than a standard chemistry Ca test.
    I am Homer of BORG... Prepare to be..OOOO!! DONUT!!!!!!

  6. #6
    Senior Member pwall's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Posts
    2,326
    Quote Originally Posted by tang_man_montreal
    From what I've read, the Pinpoint CA monitors should be calibrated at each use. Which makes for an extremely long test. As long, or longer, than a standard chemistry Ca test.
    I've heard that as well. I'm wondering though if you calibrate it, and then leave it in the tank (like you would with a pH monitor), then there should be no need to re-calibrate it? Of course, you would want to re-calibrate every now and then to ensure it's accuracy (and for cleaning).
    Regards,
    Patrick.
    Ottawa (Orleans), Ontario
    Yahoo IM: pwallnfld

  7. #7
    Moderator Krugar's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Posts
    3,174
    Yeah isn't the point of a monitor to leave it in the tank & well monitor?

    Cheers!
    There is nothing so permanent as a temporary measure.

  8. #8
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Posts
    193
    Quote Originally Posted by Krugar
    Yeah isn't the point of a monitor to leave it in the tank & well monitor?

    Cheers!
    Unfortunatly the probe is quite fragil and doesn't like staying in the tank for extended periods (from what I heard).

    The only occasion I can see this beeing usefull is if you have to test many samples (from different systems for example). I cant say that I know anybody who needs to do that...

    -yvest

Similar Threads

  1. calicum reactors / UV's
    By scuba steve in forum ARRG
    Replies: 20
    Last Post: 12-08-2003, 10:25 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •