Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Trying to Increase Calcium...

Hi all,

I'm new to marine but have been into FW for many years.

So far Things are working out fine but that might change once a few fish and mushroom coral are added in another couple of months when the tank's water will have ages for about four months.

I have a 48 inch long 55 gallon tank with around 10 lbs of cured Fiji live rock (will add 40 more pounds when supplier has more) and standard 2-tube daylight tubes which will change to MH. Substrate is crushed coral and three weeks ago I added seven gallons of clean ocean water to the tank.

I've been trying to increase the calcium from 320ppm to 400ppm for the past week and it seems as if the tank is resisting my attempts but that's where I need your experience.

I have since added 125mL of Reef Complete which brings it up to where I want but it seems to drop back to between 340 and 360ppm the following day. Is it usually this difficult?

Water conditions are:

Ca - 400ppm (two hours after adding 15 more ml from this morning's add of 15 ml)
    KH - 110mg/L
    Ph - 8.4 (holds well)
    Nitrite - 0
    Nitrate - 5
    Ammonia - 0
    Phosphate - 0.5 mg/L
    Iron - 0
    SG - 1.023 (using a refractometer) same as the ocean water here
    Salinity - 30 (using a refractometer)
    79F with less than 1/2 degree variances

Is it normally this much of a challenge to increase the calcium using Seachem's Reef Complete?

BTW, I'll soon post some pics of the tank.

Dont worry about calcium until you have a few hard corals... 340 isn't so bad.

I'm not sure what you mean by 110mg/L of KH... which tests are you using.

You should probably get rid of the Crushed coral while it's still easy. It just trap crap. Either go with some sand or nothing at all.

Personally, I would raise both the temp (to about 82F) and the SG to about 1.026.