question about using "Cycle"

I am fairly new to the salt water world and have had my tank for almost a year now. I have been pouring 5 caps of Cycle on a weekly basis, (since I have a 55 gallon tank) and recently was talking to an employee in a LFS. Apparently it is only necessary to use "Cycle" for the first few months. Anyhow I have stopped using it, but am just looking to get a second opinion from the experts here. I want to make sure that by not using it, that it won't have an impact on anything. Should I use it only when I do water changes?
    Jason Marshall :biglaugh2
    Saint John, NB

It's used to jump start the bateria in a new tank.
    Since yours is already a year old, you don't need it anymore.
    Regards,
    Patrick.
    Ottawa (Orleans), Ontario
    Yahoo IM: pwallnfld

Plus I find that if you use LR, no cycling needed! It comes with the rock!

Wow, Hagen must love you! :biglaugh2

I would slowly wean your tank off of the Cycle. You've been using it for so long that your tank has adjusted and compensated for it...some of the bacteria may even be relying on it. To suddenly stop using it may have some unwanted side-effects.

Quitting cold turkey may have no effect at all, but one thing we all learn about this hobby is that messing around with our tanks when things are going well is where many of the problems come from.

I would drop the dosage by a capful every week.
    James...

"Knowing is half the battle!" ~ G.I. JOE

Cycle is a whack load of bacteria in a bottle. You're tank isn't addicted too it & you won't need to wean it off of cycle.

As pointed out, you primarily use it to get your bio filter going, but there's nothing in a bottle of cycle that you won't get for free if you add water to your tank.