Thread: salit mix

salit mix

has and one used Red Sea Marine Salt or heard any thing aboult it?

it is a good price.

It is a good brand as most of us use Instant ocean though.
    180g AGA inwall W/ 2 overflows W/ 205g sump 20g fuge, 77g W/ 30g sump 12g fuge w/mag 9.5 pump.

I've been using Red Sea for over 2 years...haven't had any problems with it that I'm aware of.
    And at $34 a pale (good for 200 gallons).... (well, that was the Boxing Day sale price at BA)
    Regards,
    Patrick.
    Ottawa (Orleans), Ontario
    Yahoo IM: pwallnfld

people bad mouth every salt out there, i use it because that was what the tank was run on when i first got it. i traded some work for an established FOWLR, bought a larger tank and wanted to match the salt for the upgrade. i have been meaning to change to Reef Crystals because people say it ( Red Sea ) has nitrates and phosphates in it ( i've tested and found nothing except low Ca and Mg ). when i look at $90 for 160g or $55 for 200g ( regular BA prices ) i just can't be bothered to change.

PS: pwall are you running a reef or FOWLR?
    `

120S RR tank with 60G basement sump / fuge

Return Pump: Little Giant 4-MDQX SC
    Water Movement: MP40W, Seio 1500, (2) Hydor K4's
    Lighting: 400W SE MH with 10K Venture
    Skimmer: Euro-Reef RS250 with gate valve
    Other: RODI, RDSB, PO4/AC reactor

My Gallery

I have used red sea for around 4 years now without issues. I have kept FO and then moved to reef with a variety of softies, LPS and Clams without issues. I have not had any algae problems during this time.

Here is an article published by the university of Hawaii I beleive. I found this several years ago when I had to change salt types.

http://saltaquarium.about.com/gi/dyn.../1/default.asp

Red Sea salt here for almost 2 years with no issues. I have full blown mix reef including sps and clams.
    90G bb mixed reef set up in April 2005. I had 40g mixed reef for one year before that