Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Complicated water assistance (long).

I'm getting desperate so I'm posting here. I've been working on water problems for a few years and don't know what is causing it. I have a small saltwater tank but we are purchasing RO water for this. I would love to go bigger but our water made that impossible. I'm posting here because you guys take care of expensive setups and have probably more water knowledge than freshwater forums. I am an OVAS member but this is fairly high level and don't think I'd get a reply on OVAS anyhoo (Just Joking kind of).

Please please please help or point me to a water guru :b8:

The problem I have is that my tanks though VERY understocked and overfiltered - the nitrate level is not in proportion to feeding and ammonia. There is something in my water that is being converted to nitrate and I'm not sure if an RO unit will take this out. Does this make sense? It seems like the water itself results in a nitrate level of 25 right off the bat after the biobugs convert what ever is feeding it in the water. (Salifert Nitrate test kit).

I bought a six stage RO unit but haven't set it up yet. I wasn't told that because I'm on a well I needed a pressure booster. Now I'm not so sure an RO unit will even dent the problem.

I don't know whether to invest in water tests to find out exactly what is wrong with my water or if an RO unit is the answer. The nitrate levels are my biggest source of frustration and my fish seem to constantly be dealing with health issues. I am anal about water quality and water changes.

Summary:
    Well water (not sure how deep)
    Iron, Iron bacteria
    Sulpher
    Sediment
    Ammonia of .5
    Nitrite 0