nutrifin test kits good?

are the nutrifin kits any good?

my ammonia shows light green (0.5 I BELIEVE) and my fish store tested it and said ammonia,nitrite and nitrates are good.

Senior Member tang_man_montreal's Avatar
    Gerry,
    I can't comment on nutrifin test kits as I've never used them before. Make sure it is a saltwater test and not freshwater.

From what I've seen, most test kits are comparable when testing ammonia, nitrite, and nitrate. It is only when testing alkalinity, calcium, and more advanced parameters that you need higher quality tests, from my experience.

As to your ammonia reading, that goes inline with what I'd expect from your sudden high fish load in your tank. Your tank is still too young for all those fish. I would highly suggest removing most of the fish in order to let your tank slowly adjust to the added bioloads. As a rule of thumb, one fish should only be added every 3-4weeks to allow the tank to adjust.

I would also suggest a water change immediately.
    I am Homer of BORG... Prepare to be..OOOO!! DONUT!!!!!!

to change some of the water,how long should tap water sit in a pail?

I have drops to take out chlorine,actually i think they sell a cheap thing to treat tap water as it pours into pail

ToX
    Buy A RO/DI, 165$ and you wont have as much algea problems... and you dont have to wait 24h for the cholrine to evaporate... trust me RO all the way

nutrifin

Get rid of the nutrifin test kits. No very good quality IMO. Also the scales are too close color wise to each other to be accurate. If you want better accuracy,ease of reading, and ease of testing proceedure go with seachem. And if you really want accurate buy Salifert, and you won't buy anything else ever. Also very important to get an R/O unit.
    Jason

I have to admit, I do love my RO unit. Even though ever since I own it I keep picking up water in the basement :rant: