Finally making the jump to Salt water tank...

Hi everybody,
    Just started two weeks ago with salt water reef tank... I also have 3 soft water tank in the house a 20 gal and two 10 gal in the kids rooms... Just got myself a 33gal Saltwater setup with live rocks, live sand and 3 clown fish... two black and white and an orange (nemo) type... I'm presently slowly getting the tank ready for my next adition... The 3 clown fish were already in the tank when I got it... Probably will have tons of questions to ask... Any info will help...

Eric

Welcome to our community Eric,

I think one of the interesting things about this hobby is that there is so much to learn. Like you I am just starting out, but if you have any question, please ask away. I am sure someone will have a solution or a thought.

Jason
    Jason

Hi and welcome.
    One thing to think about ... I assume you've moved the tank from someone else's place to yours and re-added everything: sand, rocks, water & fish.

You'll need to be careful that you don't have a spike in some of the bad stuff: ammonia, nitrites and then nitrates.
    - When you remove rocks from water, even briefly, you can get some die off of the micro & mini organisms (from bacteria to pods and worms).
    - Disturbing the sand bed can similarly trigger die off and release of detritus that's gathered there for months or even years.
    This can pollute your water and at worst cause a complete crash of your new tank.

If you aren't monitoring for ammonia and nitrites, you should start.
    You should be prepared to do a few heavy (15% or more) salt water changes in the next few weeks (depending on what levels you measure).

Try to stay at the light end of feeding until the tank has been running for a few weeks at least. More food is more load on the weakened bio-filtration provided by the rocks.
    Sarchasm: The gulf between the author of sarcastic wit and the person who doesn't get it.

Thanks for the info Cress,